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Message from the Bureau Chief 

AMCs Here to Stay 
The long awaited federal banking 
regulations (required by Dodd-Frank) 
providing guidance on the role of appraisal 
management companies (AMC) and 
appraisal reports for Federally Related 
Transactions (FRT) were issued in April 
These are federal minimum requirements 
including a rule to guide both the lending 
institutions and state appraisal regulatory 
agencies  The fnal rule will become 
efective 60 days after publication in the 
Federal Register, which is expected soon 

States have 36 months to implement 
statutes and regulations to comply with the 
new requirements  Review and comparison 
of existing AMC law in California (Business 
and Professions Code 11343–11346) with 
the new federal rule shows that change to 
California law is needed  BREA will let you 
know when those changes are made, but 
until that time, existing state law is still in 
place for AMCs registered in California 

The following are important highlights of 
existing California law that include what an 
AMC can and cannot do  More detail can 
be found in Business and Professions Code 
11345 4–11345 6 

An AMC cannot seek to improperly 
infuence the result of an appraisal by 
requesting a preliminary opinion of value 
before contracting for the appraisal; or 
condition the hiring of an appraiser based 
upon an expected value conclusion; or 

condition the amount of the appraiser’s 
compensation on a value conclusion; or 
provide an appraiser with a desired valuation 
prior to completion of the appraisal  The 
statute goes on to prohibit an AMC from 
withholding or threatening to withhold 
timely payment because an appraiser 
does not return a certain value estimate, or 
implying that future retention of an appraiser 
depends upon an appraiser’s particular 
estimate of value 

An AMC can ask an appraiser to consider 
additional appropriate information, provide 
further detail, explanation, or substantiation 
for a value conclusion, or correct errors 
in a report  An AMC can also withhold 
compensation due to breach of contract 
or substandard performance of services 

Navigating a business relationship with an 
AMC can be critical to your success  The 
following three recommendations will 
help appraisers realize that success: 

» Make sure you have an engagement letter 
clearly stating the scope of work, the 
intended use, and the intended user(s) 

» Be thorough and professional in your 
portal comments 

» Keep a complete, well documented 
work fle 

If you depend on FRT/AMC work in your 
business, make the best of it by knowing 
the law and paying attention to the details 
of managing that relationship

                       James S  Martin, Bureau Chief 



Did You Know? 

Sacramento Food Bank & Family Services recognized BREA 
with second place for “Highest Poundage Per Employee” in the 
2014-15 California State Employees Food Drive  BREA collected 
more weight per capita than all other departments and agencies 
in the State other than the Governor’s Ofce—over 58 pounds 
(2,115 total)  The hard work and generosity of BREA staf resulted 
in exceeding our own lofty goal, and setting a high bar for the 
future  Pictured at right are the BREA coordinators, Miranda 
Williams and Ronald Drummer 

This notable accomplishment is just one example of the 
enthusiasm BREA staf bring in their daily approach to fulflling 
the mission of safeguarding public trust and maintaining our 
core values of accountability, excellence, fairness and integrity 

2014 California Examination Statistics 
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Certifed General Certifed Residential Residential License Trainee License 
104 627 102 310 

First Timers 67 21% 55 27% 42 00% 52 87% 

Repeaters 34 88% 41 40% 44 23% 44 85% 

Total Number Passed 53 85% 48 33% 43 14% 49 35% 
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Using a Photograph Other Than Your Own 

Have you ever used a photograph in an appraisal report other 
than you own? This includes a photograph from MLS, Google, 
etc  If so, keep reading 

It has been common practice for decades for an appraiser to 
photograph the subject and comparables, and include these 
photographs in the appraisal report  The Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) is not a how-to manual, 
but it does include a requirement that the scope of work satisfy 
all of the intended user’s assignment conditions and that your 
report is not misleading 

Let’s break down these two issues 

The preprinted scope of work in many common-use form 
reports requires, at a minimum, that an appraiser “… must 
inspect each of the comparables sales from at least the street ” 
Taking a photograph of a comparable at the time of inspection, 
and including it in your report, provides some assurance to your 
client that you complied with this minimum 

If a photograph from another source better represents a 
comparable, include that photograph as well as your own 
(assuming you have the photograph owner’s permission)  By 
providing both photographs, you have submitted evidence of 
complying with your scope of work and have provided the best 
data available to support your analysis  Always document the 
source of a photograph if not your own  This is what competent 
appraisers do; they provide documentation and support for their 
analysis Be this appraiser! 

How does an appraiser create a misleading report with a 
photograph? They do this by not identifying the work of another, 
or by attempting to circumvent their responsibilities by including 
an ambiguous statement such as “MLS photographs may have 
been used ” Furthermore, attempting to conceal any references 
to the source of a photograph (e g , by cropping of the source’s 
watermark or logo) is not only misleading, it indicates intent to 
mislead Do not be this appraiser! 
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In this regular feature of The California Appraiser newsletter, we answer some of the most common and urgent questions from 
appraisers, lenders, appraisal management companies (AMCs), and the general public about appraiser licensing, AMC registration, 
and enforcement 

In this edition, we will address questions about licensing renewal 
requirements 

Q: I fnd the two-year renewal and four-year continuing 
education cycle confusing. Can you explain the diference? 

A: All licensed appraisers must renew their license every two 
years, but they have four years to complete the required 56 
hours of continuing education (CE) 

Q: What continuing education is required with my two-year 
renewal? 

A: The 7-hour National USPAP Update Course (or its equivalent 
as determined by the Appraisal Qualifcations Board (AQB)) is 
required with every two-year renewal  BREA calls this the USPAP 
Only Renewal 

Q: What continuing education is required with my four-year 
renewal? 

A: Another 7-hour National USPAP Update Course (or its equivalent 
as determined by the AQB), the 4-hour course entitled Federal 
and State Laws and Regulations, and 38 hours of additional 
approved CE   BREA calls this the Full Continuing Education 
Renewal 

Q: What is a USPAP Only Renewal? 

A: This is the license renewal period during the frst two years of 
the four-year CE cycle  Proof of completion of the 7-hour National 
USPAP Update Course (or its equivalent as determined by the 
AQB) is the only CE requirement for an on-time renewal during 
the frst two years of the four-year CE cycle 

Q: What is a Full CE Renewal? 

A: This is the license renewal period at the end of the four-year 
CE cycle  Licensees are required to submit proof of completion of 
the following toward the end of their four-year renewal: 

» Your second 7-hour National USPAP Update Course (or its 
equivalent as determined by the AQB) taken during this 
current renewal period 

» The 4-hour course entitled Federal and State Laws and 
Regulations 

» A minimum of 38 hours of additional approved CE 

Remember: You are required to complete a 7-hour National 
USPAP Update Course for each two-year renewal 

Q: How do I know which two-year renewal period I’m in? 

A: You can check your licensing renewal period on the BREA 
website, www.brea.ca.gov  Use the “Online Services” drop 
down, then “Search for an Appraiser” When you enter your 
license number and “Submit,” you will see either “USPAP” or 
“Full CE” for “Next Renewal” on the Licensee Details page 

NOTE: It is the licensee’s responsibility to submit a timely renewal 
and know which renewal is required 

Q: How many continuing education hours must I complete? 

A: All licensed appraisers must complete a total of 56 hours of CE 
every four years including the following mandatory courses for 
all licenses: 

» USPAP—Licensees must complete the 7-hour National USPAP 
Update Course (or its equivalent as determined by the AQB) 
every two years 

» Laws and Regulations—Licensees must complete a four-
hour BREA-approved course covering Federal and State Laws 
and Regulations once every four years 

Although licensees should complete an average of 14 hours 
for each calendar year, they are not required to complete CE 
in any specifc year  Licensees are required to submit proof of 
completion of 38 hours of additional approved CE along with 
the mandatory courses at the end of their Full CE Renewal 

Q: Will the 15-hour National USPAP Course satisfy the 7-hour 
National USPAP Update Course requirement? 

A: No  The initial 15-hour USPAP course is a basic education 
requirement and does not fulfll the mandatory 7-hour National 
USPAP Update Course required every two years   The mandatory 
7-hour National USPAP Update Course is designed to keep licensed 

Just the FAQs 

continued on next page 

4 THE CALIFORNIA APPRAISER 



 

  

 

  

 

 

 

   

 

   

  
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

      
~~~~ "~~ "~~~~~~~ "~~~~~" 

~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~ 

Just the FAQs continued from page 4 

appraisers informed of changes to USPAP If you take another 15-
hour USPAP course, you can use 14 hours toward your additional 
CE (you cannot use exam time for CE hours) 

Q: Are diferent continuing education courses required for 
the diferent license levels? 

A: No  All licensees have the same CE requirements 

Q: What is the term of a California real estate appraiser 
license? 

A: The term of a California real estate appraiser license is two 
years 

Q: How often do I have to renew my license? 

A: License renewals are required every two years  The expiration 
date of an appraiser license is normally two years from the date 
of issuance 

NOTE: Appraisers with an expired license cannot legally perform 
appraisals in federally-related transactions until their license is 
renewed 

Q: How can I renew my license? 

A: If your license is current and in good standing, you can submit 
your renewal online at www.brea.ca.gov 

A mail-in paper renewal application is required if you: 1) live 
out of state; 2) have a license that is suspended, resigned, 
surrendered, or revoked; 3) had your right to renew revoked; or 
4) are subject to enforcement monitoring  Additionally, some 
background reviews require a mail-in only process 

NOTE:  BREA recommends submitting your renewal application 
at least three months prior to your license expiration, but BREA 
cannot accept a renewal more than six months prior to the 
existing license expiration date 

Q: What should I submit with my renewal? 

A: A Renewal Application (REA 3012) and appropriate fees are 
required with all renewals along with the following: 

Renewal Period Proof of Completion 

First two-year 
“USPAP Only 
Renewal” 

7-hour National USPAP Update 
Course 

End of four-
year cycle “Full 
Continuing 
Education 
Renewal” 

7-hour National USPAP Update 
Course 

4-hour Federal and State Laws and 
Regulations 

38 hours of additional approved CE 

BREA will require Consent to Service of Process (REA 3006) if the 
appraiser’s physical residence address is outside of California  If 
the renewal is late, BREA will require a late fee and additional 
education 

Credit/debit cards and all forms of checks are acceptable 
methods for payment of fees 

Q: What if my renewal is late? 

A: Applications are considered late if postmarked after the 
expiration date of the license OR if any of the required CE is 
completed after the expiration date of the license  Licensees 
must pay late renewal fees and submit proof of completion 
of seven additional hours of CE for each six-month period the 
application is received after the expiration of the renewal period 

NOTE: Licensees may renew a license within two years of the 
license expiration; however, licenses renewed within this two-
year grace period are considered late 
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BREA Licensing Statistics as of 5/4/2015 
11,420 Active Licensees 

29% 

6% 

12% 

53% 

Trainee (AT) 

Residential (AL) 

Certiÿed Residential (AR) 

Certiÿed General (AG) 

685 

1,370 

6,053 

3,312 
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Legal Corner 

Hello everyone  My name is Kyle Mutef and I am BREA’s new 
legal counsel  I have been an attorney for fve years  I began 
my career with a private law frm specializing in real property 
litigation and transactions  A few years ago, I moved to the 
Department of Consumer Afairs to advise various boards and 
bureaus  Most recently, I became BREA’s legal counsel 

Enough about me, I want to discuss a problem I see often, which 
is failure to disclose felony charges, criminal convictions, and 
discipline from other agencies  Failing to report these events 
can result in disciplinary action  I am providing a brief summary 
of Business and Professions Code section 11318, but I suggest 
you read the entire section because you are held to all the 
requirements in the section, not just the highlights discussed 
below 

Business and Professions Code section 11318 requires all licensees, 
applicants, and course providers report to BREA in writing, within 
30 days, any of the following: 1) felony charges; 2) misdemeanor 

or felony convictions (including pleas); and 3) the cancellation, 
revocation, or suspension of a license, other authority to practice, 
or refusal to renew a license or other authority to practice as an 
occupational or professional license or course provider, by any 
other regulatory agency 

The written report required to be submitted to BREA must be 
signed by the licensee, applicant, or course provider and shall 
clearly set forth the facts of the event including, but not limited 
to, the court, docket number, and dates of occurrence  The 
report must be submitted to BREA within 30 days  The reporting 
party must also promptly submit to BREA a certifed copy of 
the police report or administrative agency’s investigative report 
and certifed copies of the court or administrative agency’s 
docket, complaint or accusation, and judgment or other order 
Additionally, the reporting party must promptly respond to 
BREA’s oral or written inquiries concerning the event  Failure to 
adhere to any of these requirements is grounds for discipline 

Our Vision: Empowering real 
estate appraisal excellence. 
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Enforcement Actions 
Enforcement actions are based on the totality of the circumstances and the merits of each matter on a case-by-case basis, including the 
nature and severity of the ofenses involved, prior disciplinary actions (if any), and circumstances that support a fnding that the ofender 
has been rehabilitated  Violation descriptions may be partial and summarized due to space limitiations 

For these reasons, cases may appear similar on their face yet warrant diferent sanctions  For a description of the criteria followed by 
BREA in enforcement matters, please refer to Title 10, Chapter 6 5, Article 12 (commencing with section 3721) of the California Code of 
Regulations  Additional information on the individual actions is also available on the BREA website, www.brea.ca.gov 

Published Disciplinary Actions 

Licensee License No. Business City 
Order 
Efective 

Outcome 

Vasquez, Raymond AR005124 Corona Del Mar 10/15/14 Additional Education, Fine, Probation 

Smith, Gene AR032514 Huntington Beach 10/3/14 Additional Education, Fine, Probation 

Risner, Donald AR004107 Bakersfeld 12/17/14 Additional Education, Fine, Probation 

Sandez, Jefrey AR037193 San Bernardino 3/25/15 Additional Education, Fine, Probation 

Donerkiel, Dale AG002740 San Fernando 11/27/14 Additional Education, Fine, Probation, Suspension 

Gleich, Greg AR034586 Simi Valley 3/25/15 Fine, Probation 

Geisler, Roger AR030679 San Dimas 4/3/15 Fine, Probation 

Liening, Donald AR033255 San Diego 10/30/14 Fine, Revocation 

Champion, William AL040739 Rialto 10/3/14 Voluntary Surrender 
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Citations 
The following disciplinary actions are citations issued October 2014–April 2015  A breakdown of the 33 total citations issued is: 
4 Certifed General; 26 Certifed Residential; and 3 Residential 

Licensee Fine Violation 

Certifed $1,500 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Use of unqualifed sales in the Sales Comparison 
General USPAP Approach to value, false claim of Jurisdictional Exception, use of sales out of subject city with no 
Licensee disclosure or analysis, use of unsupported indicators in the Income Approach to value, failure to 

reconcile disparate Sales Comparison and Income indicators, all resulting in misleading appraisal 
reports that lacked credibility and understandable analysis 

Certifed $500 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to adequately analyze the impact on value, or 
General Advanced Residential the legality, of the second unit on the subject property, and did not support the lack of an 
Licensee Application and Case 

Studies 
adjustment with market data 

Certifed $2,000 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Competency Rule: Failure to 
General USPAP, and 30 hrs perform the appropriate Scope of Work involving an appraisal assignment that is subject to 
Licensee General Appraiser 

Market Analysis and 
Highest and Best Use 

the Uniform Standards for Federal Land Acquisitions (USFLA), specifcally failure to perform an 
appropriate Highest and Best Use Analysis and Sales Comparison Approach 

Certifed $2,000 fne Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Record Keeping Rule, and Conduct Section of Ethics 
General Rule: Failure to accurately report physical and economic characteristics for the subject property, 
Licensee failure to report easements, failure to develop and report a credible Sales Comparison Approach, 

misreported comparable sale physical and economic characteristics, falsely reporting contract 
rents for the comparable rentals, and knowingly communicated misleading appraisal reports 
that were performed in a negligent manner 

Certifed 
Residential 
Licensee 

$1,000 fne, 15 hrs 
USPAP, 15 hrs  basic 
education 

Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to accurately report and analyze relevant property 
characteristics for the comparable sales in the Sales Comparison Approach, and selecting 
comparable sales all superior in quality attributes resulting in reports that were not credible 

Certifed $1,000 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Record Keeping Rule: Failure to 
Residential USPAP maintain true copies of appraisal reports; use of MLS photos without disclosure when original 
Licensee photos were required by agreement with the client; failure to accurately identify and report 

relevant subject physical characteristics such as bedroom and bathroom counts; estimating 
value outside the range of value indicators; failure to support adjustments; failure to reconcile 
indicators within the Sales Comparison Approach; providing widely disparate valuations of 
the subject at $450,000 and $600,000 less than a month apart; failure to reconcile between 
approaches; mistakenly reporting diferent efective dates of value 

Certifed 
Residential 
Licensee 

$500 fne, 15 hrs 
basic education 

Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to accurately report and analyze relevant property 
characteristics for the comparable sales; and failure to adequately reconcile the concluded value 
in the Sales Comparison Approach resulting in a report that was not credible 

continued on next page 
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Citations continued from page 10 

Licensee Fine Violation 

Certifed $500 fne, 30 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Competency Rule, and Record Keeping Rule: Failure to 
Residential basic education adequately reconcile the subject’s concluded value, omission of other sales similar in property 
Licensee characteristics to the subject that supported a diferent value conclusion, and failure to retain all 

versions of the reports 

Certifed 15 hrs  Residential Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Competency Rule: Failure to appropriately report and 
Residential Report Writing, analyze the subject property's unpermitted addition; failure to analyze prior sale of comps 
Licensee 15 hrs  Residential 

Applications 
and possible non-arm's-length comp sale (buyer was a former seller) in the Sales Comparison 
Approach; disparate range of adjusted comps ($200K-$335K) 

Certifed 45 hrs  basic Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to determine the appropriate scope of work 
Residential education necessary to develop credible assignment results with regard to the subject's Tenant in Common 
Licensee agreement, prior listing for sale, and ownership; failure to complete the Cost Approach correctly 

as it included a garage that did not exist; failure to complete the Income Approach correctly as 
the rental data was not analyzed correctly nor the GRM derivation supported; failure to complete 
the Sale Comparison Approach correctly as the narrative comments did not match what was 
done on the adjustment grid 

Certifed $1,000 fne, 30 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Record Keeping Rule: Failure to describe the physical 
Residential basic education characteristics of the subject property; failure to support the subject site value in the Cost 
Licensee Approach; excessive range of value indicated by the comparable sales with inadequate 

reconciliation 

Certifed $1,500 fne, 15 Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Conduct section of the Ethics Rule: Failure to accurately 
Residential hrs  USPAP, 15 hrs report size and type of subject property; failure to accurately describe subject zoning; failure to 
Licensee Advanced Residential 

Applications and 
Case Studies 

complete credible Sales Comparison Approach; failure to adequately analyze or reconcile prior 
sale price of subject; failure to recognize signifcant professional assistance of trainee; failure to 
include truthful Certifcation Statement; substantial error of omission/commission; insufcient 
information for intended users 

Certifed 45 hrs  basic Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to determine the appropriate scope of work 
Residential education necessary to develop credible assignment results with regard to the subject's Tenant in Common 
Licensee agreement, prior listing for sale, and ownership; failure to complete the Cost Approach correctly 

as it included a garage that did not exist; failure to complete the Income Approach correctly as 
the rental data was not analyzed correctly nor the GRM derivation supported; failure to complete 
the Sale Comparison Approach correctly as the narrative comments did not match what was 
done on the adjustment grid 

Certifed $1,500 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2 , Record Keeping Rule in multiple appraisal reports: 
Residential USPAP, 30 hrs  basic Inaccurate neighborhood description, failure to analyze efect on subject value of an adjoining 
Licensee education lot under same ownership, incorrect subject site dimensions  and multiple inaccurate subject 

improvement characteristics (inclusion of a nonexistent garage, failure to identify and disclose 
illegal improvements, inaccurate subject residence gross living area), gross errors and omissions 
in the Sales Comparison Approach to value, concealed use of MLS comparable sale photographs 
without disclosure or explanation 

continued on page 13 
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Citations continued from page 11 

Licensee Fine Violation 

Certifed $1,000 fne, 15 Violations of Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Competency Rule: Failure to identify 
Residential hrs  USPAP, 15 hrs intended use and efective date of value; failure to adequately or accurately describe subject 
Licensee Advanced Residential 

Applications and 
Case Studies  

property and relevant characteristics of the subject neighborhood; failure to utilize similar 
comparable sales and failure to adequately analyze the sales used; failure to analyze subject 
leases, leased fee interest in the subject, or utilize the Income Approach on an income-
generating property; failure to utilize Certifcation statements in compliance with 2012 USPAP; 
misleading appraisal; insufcient information for Intended Users; failure to utilize recognized 
methods and techniques; substantial error of omission/commission 

Certifed 15 hrs  USPAP, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule: Use of online photos without 
Residential Residential Report disclosure and contrary to client requirements; failure to analyze subject's prior listing history; 
Licensee Writing and Case  

Studies 
failure to identify and report important subject physical characteristics; failure to support 
conclusions regarding market value trends; failure to support market conditions and other 
adjustments; failure to reconcile within the Sales Comparison Approach; failure to provide 
support for the estimate of site value; failure to support estimates of cost new and depreciation; 
failure to reconcile between Sales Comparison and Cost approaches 

Certifed $1,000 fne Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule: Failure to appropriately discuss and 
Residential analyze the relevant characteristics of the subject property and comparable sales used resulting 
Licensee in a misleading appraisal report; failure to adhere to the stated Scope of Work regarding his date 

of physical inspection 

Certifed $500 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to appropriately disclose and summarize the 
Residential USPAP extent of signifcant real property appraisal assistance that was provided by a licensed trainee 
Licensee appraiser, failure to disclose the use of MLS photographs of the comparable sales used while 

cropping the time stamps, contemporaneous with the MLS listing date, from two comparable 
photographs used 

Certifed $750 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to adequately reconcile the concluded value, 
Residential Advanced Residential selecting sales dissimilar in property characteristics to the subject requiring large adjustments 
Licensee Applications and 

Case Studies 
for their diferences, and omitting other sales more similar to the subject supporting a diferent 
value conclusion 

Certifed $1,500 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Record Keeping Rule in multiple appraisal reports: 
Residential USPAP, 30 hrs  basic Inaccurate neighborhood description, failure to analyze efect on subject value of an adjoining 
Licensee education  lot under same ownership, incorrect subject site dimensions  and multiple inaccurate subject 

improvement characteristics (inclusion of a nonexistent garage, failure to identify and disclose 
illegal improvements, inaccurate subject residence gross living area), gross errors and omissions 
in the Sales Comparison Approach to value, concealed use of MLS comparable sale photographs 
without disclosure or explanation 

Certifed $1,500 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Conduct section of the Ethics 
Residential USPAP and 15 hrs Rule: Disguised the use of online photos by cropping, falsely certifed interior and exterior 
Licensee basic education inspection of the subject and induced a trainee to assist in this violation, submitted two diferent 

versions of report to the client on two diferent dates but reported the same date of report The 
overall result is an appraisal report that was misleading 

continued on next page 
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Citations continued from page 13 

Licensee Fine Violation 

Certifed 15 hrs  USPAP, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Competency Rule  Failure to 
Residential Residential Market perform the appropriate Scope of Work involving an appraisal assignment that is subject to 
Licensee Analysis and Highest 

and Best Use 
the Uniform Standards for Federal Land Acquisitions (USFLA), specifcally failure to perform an 
appropriate Highest and Best Use Analysis and Sales Comparison Approach 

Certifed $1,000 fne Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Failure to accurately or adequately describe subject 
Residential site and improvements; failure to adequately analyze prior sale of subject; failure to determine 
Licensee and perform credible Scope of Work; failure to analyze and report credible Highest and Best 

Use of subject; substantial error of omission or commission; misleading appraisal; insufcient 
information for intended users 

Certifed $1,000 fne, 15 Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Conduct section of the Ethics 
Residential hrs  USPAP, 30 hrs Rule: False certifcation since not all  comparables were inspected; concealed use of MLS 
Licensee Residential Sales 

Comparison and 
Income Approaches 

comparable rental and sales photos by cropping MLS logo; failed to address subject proximity 
to Chico State Univ ; failed to use relevant comparable sales while utilizing dissimilar properties 
as comparable sales; used 2-year-old MLS data for rental comparables without disclosure of 
date; backed into unit value indicators; GRM outside of range indicated by comparable data 
with no support; failed to provide credible sales comparison and income approaches; report 
was knowingly misleading 

Certifed 15 hrs  Residential Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule: Zoning description incorrect; 
Residential Site Valuation and used MLS/Google photos contrary to accepted Scope of Work; misreported subject physical 
Licensee Cost Approach, 30 

hrs  Residential Sales 
Comparison and 
Income Approaches 

characteristics; misrepresented market trends as stable when actually increasing rapidly; failed to 
support condition ratings and accurately describe amenities; failed to reconcile within the Sales 
Comparison Approach; failed to use accepted methodology in site valuation; did not support 
depreciation estimates; failed to reconcile between approaches; adjustments to comparable 
sales widened the range of value instead of reducing it; failed to provide credible Sales 
Comparison and Cost approaches 

Certifed 15 hrs  Residential Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Competency Rule in multiple 
Residential Sales Comparison reports: Failure to accurately or adequately report or analyze subject and comparable sale 
Licensee and Income 

Approaches and 
15 hrs  Residential 
Report Writing and 
Case Studies 

locational attributes; failure to accurately describe subject property; failure to analyze prior 
sales of comparable sales; failure to adequately or accurately analyze, report, adjust, or reconcile 
comparable sales; failure to be aware of, understand, and correctly employ recognized methods 
and techniques to produce a credible appraisal; misleading appraisals; insufcient information 
for intended users 

Certifed 15 hrs  Residential Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Zoning description incorrect; used MLS/Google photos 
Residential Site Valuation and contrary to accepted Scope of Work; misreported subject physical characteristics; misrepresented 
Licensee Cost Approach and 

30 hrs Residential 
Sales Comparison 
and Income 
Approaches 

market trends as stable when actually increasing rapidly; failed to support condition ratings and 
accurately describe amenities; failed to reconcile within the Sales Comparison Approach; failed 
to use accepted methodology in site valuation; did not support depreciation estimates; failed 
to reconcile between approaches; adjustments to comparable sales widened the range of value 
instead of reducing it; failed to provide credible Sales Comparison and Cost approaches 

continued on next page 
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Citations continued from page 14 

Licensee Fine Violation 

Certifed $1,000 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Competency Rule: Failure to 
Residential USPAP, 30 hrs  basic adequately describe subject neighborhood; failure to provide original comparable photo(s) and 
Licensee education to include 

Residential Sales 
Comparison and 
Income Approaches 

use of cropped MLS photo(s) without attribution, failure to complete operating expense analysis; 
failure to complete credible Sales Comparison Approach by erroneous reporting of comparable 
sales and price per unit indicators; failure to complete credible Income Approach; failure to 
reconcile value indicators within Sales Comparison Approach and within report; failure to employ 
recognized methods and techniques; substantial error of omission/commission; insufcient 
information for intended users 

Certifed $2,000 fne, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Conduct section of the Ethics 
Residential USPAP Rule: Disguising the use of online photos by cropping MLS logos and date stamps, and inducing 
Licensee a trainee to assist in this violation; falsely certifying interior and exterior inspection of the subjects 

and inducing a trainee to assist in this violation; incorrect development of the income approach 
by calculating unit value indicators and the gross rent multiplier mechanically from the opinion 
of value by the Sales Comparison Approach instead of developing them independently; overall 
result is appraisals that were misleading and not credible 

Certifed $1,000 fne, 30 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Acceptability sections of the Scope of 
Residential basic education Work Rule, Conduct section of the Ethics Rule: Failure to properly identify, report and analyze 
Licensee specifc neighborhood boundaries and various characteristics of the subject property, failure to 

adequately report various property characteristics of the improved sales, failure to reconcile the 
analysis of Sales Comparison approach indicators to value in a credible manner 

Residential 
Licensee 

$500 fne, 15 hrs 
basic education 

Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2: Respondent failed to utilize more relevant comparable 
sales while failing to appropriately discuss and analyze the relevant characteristics of the 
comparable sales used, resulting in an appraisal report that was not credible 

Residential 15 hrs  Residential Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, and Record Keeping Rule of the 
Licensee Appraisal Site 

Valuation and Cost 
Approach, and 15 hrs 
Advance Residential 
Applications and 
Case Studies  

Ethics Rule: Failed to report correct zoning of subject, failed to analyze comparable sales data 
necessary for credible assignment; cited sources for site valuation and replacement cost that 
were not accurate 

Residential $500 Fine, 15 hrs Violations of USPAP Standards 1 and 2, Scope of Work Rule, Conduct section of Ethics Rule, and 
Licensee USPAP, 15 hrs 

Advanced Residential 
Applications and 
Case Studies 

Record Keeping Rule: Created a Sales Comparison analysis which lacked credibility by failing 
to support an adjustment, and reporting information about the comparables that was grossly 
diferent from the cited data sources; failed to take original comparable photos as required, and 
altered MLS photos by removing copyright/watermark; failed to maintain a complete copy of the 
sales contract in the work fle 
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Licensing Requirement Reminder 
California Code of Regulations § 3527 requires written notifcation to BREA within 
10 days of any change to: (1) name; (2) residence or business telephone number; 
or (3) residence, business or mailing address 

Use the Change Notifcation and Miscellaneous Requests Form REA 3011 available 
on our website, www.brea.ca.gov  Click on “Forms ” Submit the signed form, 
the required fee, and any needed documentation by mail 

Although not a requirement, you can also use the REA 3011 to provide or update 
your e-mail address, which will increase communication with us via e-mail blasts 

Department of Consumer Afairs 
Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers 
1102 Q Street, Suite 4100 
Sacramento, CA  95811 
(916) 552-9000 

PDE_15-221 

WWW.BREA.CA.GOV 
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