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Message from the Chief

We must begin by thanking everyone that took the time to participate in the
demographic survey in June. The survey gleamed an amazingly incredible 27%
response rate.

BREA Demographic Survey 2023
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59.91% of the respondents are between the ages of 50-69 years old

This publication will highlight a selected few of the data findings due to
extensive volume of information collected.



Answer Choices
Decline to state
Male
Female

Nonbinary

Please select your applicable gender category.

Responses
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65.20% of the respondents are male

Please be advised
the entire
Demographic
Survey data
results will be
published in
BREA’s
Legislative report
by July 1, 2024,
as required by
AB948 (Holden).
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Do you plan to renew your real estate appraisal license?

Answer Choices

Yes
No
Decline to state

Other (please specify)

Responses
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5.00% 122

Answered 2441

Do you plan to renew your real estate

90.00%

appraisal license?

80.00%
70.00%

60.00%

50.00%

40.00%

m Responses

30.00%

20.00%

10.00%

0.00%
Yes

No Decline to state

Other (please

specify)
85.37% of the respondents plan to renew their license

How many more years are you planning to maintain
your appraiser license?

Responses
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65.02% of the respondents are planning to maintain
their license for 6-10 and over 10 years




In addition to the entire Demographic Survey data results, the Bureau will deliver a
compilation of the information/data voluntarily submitted on the complaint forms since

January 1, 2022.

Are you working primarily as a:
Answer Choices
Trainee Appraiser working with a supervisor
Trainee Appraiser looking for a supervisor
Trainee Appraiser on waitlist for PAREA or practicum
program
Other (please specify)
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60% of the Trainee respondents were working with a

Angela Jemmott, Bureau Chief

B Responses

What is your current license level?

Answer Choices Responses
Trainee 3.56% 89
Residential Licensee 7.80% 195
Certified Residential 59.00% 1475
Certified General 28.60% 715
| do not hold an appraisal license 1.04% 26
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59% of the respondents were Certified
Residential licensees




Did You Know?

Check out The Appraisal Foundations’ December Newsletter https://icont.ac/4UJpB to stay up to date on the
latest news! Learn about The Appraisals Foundations work, it's Roles, and Responsibilities in the Appraisal
Industry.

To see all Newsletters, press releases, annual reports, and more click on:
https://appraisalfoundation.org/imis/TAF/News/TAF/News PressRoom.aspx?hkey=205b0b4e-80c3-41b3-

al4a-5dd86d6c2190

CA Exam Results

The following graph shows the California Appraisers Examination statistics from January 1, 2023, through
September 30, 2023, as provided by PSI Services. The numbers indicate the pass rate by candidate and
exam type.

California Appraiser Examination Results
1/1/2023 - 9/30/2023
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CHART DESCRIPTION FOR ADA VERSION
California Appraiser Exam Pass Rates

Certified General (AG) Status # Cds Pass % Pass Fail % Fail
First-Time 34 13 38.2% 21 61.8%

Repeat 52 24 46.2% 28 53.8%

Total: 86 37 43.0% 49 57.0%

Certified Residential (AR) Status # Cds Pass % Pass Fail % Fail
First-Time 95 37 38.9% 58 61.1%

Repeat 93 33 35.5% 60 64.5%

Total: 188 70 37.2% 118 62.8%

Residential (AL) Status # Cds Pass % Pass Fail % Fail
First-Time 46 24 52.2% 22 47.8%

Repeat 58] 14 26.4% 39 73.6%

Total: 99 38 38.4% 61 61.6%

Enforcement /Licensing Articles [Use Article Titles for Header]

Reconciliation: It’s all about the Quality and Quantity of your Data

All too often we here at the BREA see the following statement in the Sales Comparison Approach
Reconciliation:

“All comps given equal weight”.

Of course, it's possible when an appraiser is in a new tract-home subdivision that all of the comps are recent,
proximate, and so similar to the subject that each was roughly “equal” to the subject. Ask yourself, however, is
this always the case?

Let’s look at what USPAP requires:

Standards Rule 1-6(a): “In developing real property appraisal, an appraiser must reconcile the quality and
guantity of data available and analyzed within the approaches used.”

And,

Standards Rule 2-2(a)(x)(5): “The content of an Appraisal Report must be appropriate for the intended use of
the appraisal and, at a minimum provide sufficient information to indicate that the appraiser complied with the
requirements of Standards 1 by summarizing the information analyzed and the reasoning that supports the
analyses, opinions, and conclusions, including reconciliation of the data and approaches.”

The key phrase in the above USPAP references is “quality and quantity”. Were the comparables you found
recent, proximate, and/or similar to the subject? How many comparables were available? Did you have to go



outside of the defined subject neighborhood to find sales? Why? And which, of all of the sales data available,
was most similar sale (or sales) to the subject, and why?

So, remember to describe: how much data was available to you (Quantity)? Were there good, representative
comparable sales or rental data (Quality)? You don’t need to write a whole book—just summarize the data
and explain your rationale. And remember not all comparables are truly equal to the subject.

Scope of Practice

Many appraisers do not fully understand their scope of practice requirements based on their license level.
BREA regularly gets questions from appraisers who are unclear about whether they can accept an assignment
based on property type or transaction value.

The Appraisal Foundation lists the following scope of practice requirements, based on license level:
Licensed Residential

A. The Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of non-
complex one-to-four residential units having a transaction value less than $1,000,000, and complex
one-to-four residential units having a transaction value less than $400,000.

B. Complex one-to-four unit residential property appraisal means one in which the property to be
appraised, the form of ownership, or the market conditions are atypical.

C. For non-federally related transaction appraisals, transaction value shall mean market value.

1. The classification includes the appraisal of vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for one-to-
four residential units, or for which the highest and best use is for one-to-four residential units.

2. The classification does not include the appraisal of subdivisions for which a development
analysis/appraisal is necessary.

D. All Licensed Residential Real Property Appraisers must comply with the COMPETENCY RULE of
USPAP.

Certified Residential

A. The Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser classification qualifies the appraiser to appraise
one-to-four residential units without regard to value or complexity.

1. The classification includes the appraisal of vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for one-to-
four residential units purposes or for which the highest and best use is for one-to-four residential
units.

2. The classification does not include the appraisal of subdivisions for which a development
analysis/appraisal is necessary.

B. All Certified Residential appraisers must comply with the COMPETENCY RULE of USPAP

Certified General

A. The Certified General Real Property Appraiser classification qualifies the appraiser to appraise all
types of real property.
B. All Certified General appraisers must comply with the COMPETENCY RULE of USPAP

In addition, guidance from the Appraisal Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation states:

“The scope of practice identified herein represents the consensus of the Appraiser Qualifications Board. The
Federal Financial Institutions Regulatory Agencies, as well as other agencies and regulatory bodies, permit the



Certified Residential (or Licensed) classification to appraise properties other than those identified within these
Criteria. Individuals should refer to agency regulations and state law to determine the type of property that may
be appraised by the Certified Residential (or Licensed) appraiser.”

In California, the Scope of Practice requirements (Title 10, Chapter 6.5, Section 3521 of California Code of
Regulations) apply to federally related transactions as provided in Section 323.3 of Part 323 of Subchapter B of
Chapter Il of Title 12 of the Code of Federal Regulations (https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-12/chapter-
[ll/subchapter-B/part-323/subpart-A/section-323.3).

It's important for appraisers who are completing assignments for federally related transactions to be familiar
with the various sections of that federal regulation, particularly the Definitions, including the definitions of
“Commercial real estate transaction,” “Complex appraisal,” “Federally related transaction” “Residential real
estate transaction,” and “Transaction value.” Those definitions will help the appraiser better communicate with
their client to identify the appraisal problem to be solved, including appropriate assignment conditions, and

determine competency on the part of the appraiser.

Many appraisers are surprised to learn that scope of practice requirements, such as limits on transaction
values and property-types, are not a USPAP requirement. However, as part of a valuation service, USPAP
does require every appraiser to communicate with the client to determine an appropriate Scope of Work and
be competent to perform the service. Ultimately, it is up to the client and appraiser to decide how the state and
federal regulations apply to a particular assignment. Which is why understanding the regulations and other
requirements that apply is an important part of complying with USPAP.

Common Issues with the Cost Approach in Residential Appraisals

When you accept an appraisal assignment that includes an assignment condition requiring the development
and reporting of the cost approach, you must complete it in a manner that is credible and not misleading.
Below are common deficiencies that the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA) often sees that diminish the
credibility and contribute to a misleading report in the development and reporting of the Cost Approach.

One of the most common issues BREA notes in both investigations and work sample audits in license
applications is that the appraiser “reverse engineers” or “backs into” the Cost Approach value so that it agrees
with the Sales Comparison Approach value. This is most often evident in the site value, but also in the
replacement/reproduction cost, depreciation, “as-is” value of site improvements, and/or all of the above.
Instead of analyzing one or more (or all) of the various values and costs, the appraiser invents a number that
fills in the gap between the result of the Sales Comparison Approach and the other figures used in the Cost
Approach.

Site value is often problematic. Rather than perform a credible analysis of the subject’s site, the appraiser
subtracts the opined depreciated building costs from the results of the Sales Comparison Approach and
attributes the remainder to the site. Usually the appraiser will cite “extraction” or “abstraction,” however, it is
neither. This is not a credible methodology and sometimes the resulting site value stands out as clearly not
credible. In this instance, the appraiser did not perform an independent approach to value. They started with a
predetermined value (the result of the Sales Comparison Approach,) and then backed into a result that would
support the sales comparison analysis.

BREA occasionally sees illogical values included for the “as-is” value of site improvements. An example might
be an “as-is” value of site improvements that is much greater than the site value by itself, particularly when the
apparent site improvements are minimal. An appraiser must be familiar with the various site valuation
techniques. Whatever methodology the Appraiser decides to use, it must be done in a credible manner.


https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-12/chapter-III/subchapter-B/part-323/subpart-A/section-323.3
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-12/chapter-III/subchapter-B/part-323/subpart-A/section-323.3

It can also be evident when the building costs are not credible. BREA sees this in building costs that are not
supported by the cited source or when appraisers cite sources that don’t exist. Sometimes the appraiser cites a
quality rating that is different than the quality rating available within the cited source of cost data and/or
different than described elsewhere in the report, such as reporting “Q4” in the Sales Comparison Approach, but
“C3” in the Cost Approach. It is also significant when an Appraiser fails to include a building cost for additional
amenities such as a pool, guest house, or other structure. An appraiser must use a credible source, must use a
guality rating consistent with the cited data source and consistent with the cited quality elsewhere in the report,
and must estimate the cost new of all the improvements being appraised.

Another common issue is evident in the depreciation, particularly when the appraiser failed to include external
or functional depreciation identified elsewhere in the report. If an appraiser has determined that the
contributory value of an improvement such as a pool, guest house, or other amenity, is less than the cost of
that amenity minus the physical depreciation, this additional depreciation needs to be reflected in the Cost
Approach. If the subject suffers external obsolescence because it backs to a freeway, then that obsolescence
should be reflected in the Cost Approach. (If the appraiser accounts for that obsolescence in the site value,
then the commentary should explain that.) Depreciation that is not consistent with the reported condition of the
subject is another problem. For example, it doesn’t make sense if the appraiser reports an effective age of 1
year but depreciates the improvements by 50%. An appraiser must credibly estimate the difference between
the cost new and the present worth of the improvements.

When the Cost Approach has an obvious and significant error, but somehow manages to result in a value that
supports the Sales Comparison Approach, it affects the credibility of your entire report. Remember, when you
develop a Cost Approach, you must do it credibly, regardless of the weight (or lack thereof) that it is given in
the final valuation. The appraiser needs to correctly employ the methodologies they cite and must only cite
data sources that they used. Appraisers must credibly develop and report opinions of site value, cost new of
the improvements (if any), and depreciation.

The Cost Approach and the other approaches don’t necessarily have to be the same. Your job as an appraiser
is to reconcile them. And if they’re significantly different, consider that information a helpful “red flag.” Maybe
it's an indicator that your Sales Comparison Approach has a flaw. (And now you know why it's important to
develop the Cost Approach independently and credibly!)

Remember, there is no language you can add to your report that relieves you of the requirement to develop a
credible Cost Approach, and reconcile it with the other approaches to value, even if you're only developing it
because of an assignment condition.



Quick Reminders

Supervisory/Trainee course:

Licensed trainees must make sure their supervisors complete a supervisory/trainee course prior to training with
their supervisors. If the supervisor does not complete the course prior to training, the experience hours for the
trainee will not count.

USPAP Only Renewal Cycle:
Appraisers who are on their two-year renewal cycle must complete the following:
An approved seven-hour National USPAP Update Course.

Full Continuing Education Renewal Cycle:
Appraisers who are on their four-year continuing education cycle must complete the following:
Already Turned in for prior renewal:

e Seven-hour National USPAP Update Course (one is required for each two-year renewal cycle).

Must be turned in for Full Education Renewal Cycle:

Seven-hour National USPAP Update Course (one is required for each two-year renewal cycle).
Four-hour course titled “Federal and State Laws and Regulations.”

Three-hour course titled “Cultural Competency and Elimination of Bias.”

Thirty-five hours of additional BREA - approved continuing education courses.

Please note: The seven-hour National USPAP Update course submitted on the two-year renewal cycle is
already on file and counted for you totaling 56-hours.

Duplicating Courses:
Appraisers may not receive credit for completing the same continuing education (CE)
course within the same four-year continuing education cycle.

Examination Time:

Basic education (BE) courses can be counted for continuing education (CE) credit: however, no credit will be
given for the exam time.

Example: If an appraiser wanted to use a 15-hour “Residential Market Analysis Highest & Best Use” course for
their renewal, it would only count as 14 hours of CE credit.

Online Education Courses:

The Appraisal Qualification Board (AQB) Criteria requires that Asynchronous online education courses not
offered by an accredited college or university must be approved by the International Distance Certification
Center (IDECC). If the online course(s) are not IDECC approved, the appraiser will not receive the BE/CE
credit for those courses.

Upgrade Education Courses:

Upgrade courses can count towards continuing education (CE) if the education is taken within the four-year
continuing education cycle of the license renewal.

15-hour National USPAP Course:

The 15-hour National USPAP Course will not satisfy the mandatory 7-hour National USPAP Update course
required every two years.



Legal Corner

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency’s
Focus on Appraisal Bias and Discrimination

On September 28, 2023, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (“OCC”) released its Bank Supervision
Operating Plan for Fiscal Year 2024. One key area of heightened focus for supervisory strategies in fiscal year
2024 included appraisal bias in Fair Lending:

“Fair lending supervision activities should encompass the full life cycle of credit products including the
potential for mortgage lending discrimination resulting from appraisal bias or discriminatory property
evaluations.”

OCC is one of thirteen federal agencies on President Biden’s Property Appraisal and Valuation Equity
(“PAVE”) Task Force, an interagency initiative to combat bias in home appraisals. The Task Force was
directed to (i) evaluate the causes, extent, and consequences of appraisal bias and (ii) establish a
transformative set of recommendations to root out racial and ethnic bias in home valuations.

Similarly, Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (“USPAP”), the generally recognized ethical
and performance standards for the appraisal profession in the United States, made recent changes to address
bias and discrimination. Beginning January 1, 2024, USPAP’s Ethics Rule will address bias and discrimination
in a new section within the Ethics Rule titled “Nondiscrimination” and within changes to Advisory Opinions 39
and 40.

In recent years, California has also made strides to combat appraisal bias and discrimination. Assembly Bill
948 was signed into law on September 28, 2021, which required licensed appraisers to complete courses in
cultural competency and elimination of bias, and required BREA to modify its complaint form to allow the
complainant to select whether they felt the appraisal was below, at, or above market value.

Potential Impacts to Appraisers

Bias and discrimination in housing and appraising is not a novel issue. USPAP’s Ethics Rule currently requires
an appraiser to not perform an assignment with bias, and Fannie Mae requires an appraiser to certify, in part,
that they acted unbiased. Therefore, OCC'’s recently announced focus on appraisal bias and discrimination
within the credit product lifestyle should not come as a surprise; however, this recent announcement should
highlight the essential role and importance of an appraiser to act independently, fairly, and objectively when
performing home appraisals and valuations.

Potential Impacts to BREA

BREA’s mission is to protect the public trust, including investigating complaints of appraisal bias and
discrimination. It is too soon to determine whether OCC'’s strategic focus on appraisal discrimination in
mortgage lending will increase the number of complaints received by BREA.

If you suspect bias or discrimination by an appraiser in California, you can file an online complaint or complete
and mail the complaint form to BREA.

To read more about the OCC’s Bank Supervision Operating Plan for 2024, click here.


https://www2.brea.ca.gov/complaint/
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_4001.pdf
https://www.occ.gov/news-issuances/news-releases/2023/nr-occ-2023-109a.pdf

Requirements of a BREA Initial Application Background Review

As required by Business and Professions Code section 11343, a new initial applicant for a Real Estate
Appraiser license will need to have fingerprints processed, as described below:

In California, the process will be via LiveScan on the Form 8016 - Request for Live Scan. The Form 8016 is
available on BREA'’s website: https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/DOJ 8016.pdf. There are multiple California
LiveScan processing locations available throughout California. An applicant needs to complete this LiveScan
at the same time the applicant is submitting an initial application. Upon completion of the LiveScan
fingerprinting, the California Department of Justice will process and notify BREA of the fingerprinting result
directly.

If located out of state, the applicant should submit two specifically approved fingerprint cards named FD-258.
These are available from BREA by mail upon request or possibly at the out-of-state fingerprinting facility. If out
of state and submitting two FD-258 cards, these will need to be included with the initial application package
and BREA will submit them to the California Department of Justice who will process and notify BREA of the
fingerprinting results directly.

Prior to issuing a license, BREA will review the fingerprinting results in accordance with California Code of
Regulations sections 3722 and 3723, in addition to any other applicable laws and regulations. BREA’s laws
and regulations are available on BREA’s website: https://www.brea.ca.gov/html/Laws&Enf.html. BREA will
complete a review to determine if any further BREA steps are needed.

After a license is issued, a licensee must report to BREA, in writing, the occurrence of certain adverse events,
including any felony or misdemeanor convictions, within 30 days of the date he or she has knowledge of the
event (see Business and Professions Code section 11318). Also see the last page of this newsletter for a
summary description of this requirement.



https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/DOJ_8016.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/DOJ_8016.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/pdf/BP_Codes.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/html/Laws&Enf.html

Licensing Stats

The following chart shows the breakdown of the licensed appraiser population by license level type. As of
11/6/2023, there are 8,796 active appraisers. 7% are Trainee level, 10% are Residential level, 53% are
Certified Residential level, and 30% are Certified General level.

Active Licensees as of November 6, 2023: 8,796

Total License Population
585 AT

2,676 AG 848 AL
1. Trainee
2. Residential
3. Certified Residential
4. Certified General
4,687 AR

H1l m2 m3 m4




Education

Course Providers Offering the 2024-2025 Seven-Hour National Uspap Update Courses
As of November 2023, BREA has approved eight course providers for the 2024-2025 Seven-Hour National
Uspap Update course. We look forward to continued submissions of course providers.

This list of course providers can be found on our website: www.brea.ca.gov select “Online Services,” then
“Course Provider Search,” then click (“Search”).

Current as of November 2023:

2024-2025 7-Hour National
Uspap Update Courses

Course Providers

Phone Number

2024-2025 7-hour National Update
Course

Affiliated Appraisers
Workshop

(866) 944-8583

2024-2025 7-hour National Uspap
Course (Al114)

American Society of Farm
Managers & Rural
Appraisers

(303) 692-1211

2024-2025 7-hour National Uspap
Udpate Course

Appraiser eLearning, LLC

(615) 965-5705

2024-2025 7-hour National Uspap
Update Course

Appraisal Institute

(312) 335-4144

2024-2025 7-hour National Uspap
Update Course

Ken Hunsinger

(916) 420-0032

2024-2025 7-hour National Uspap
Update Course

McKissock, LLC

(800) 328-2008

2024-2025 7-hour National Uspap
Update Course

Real Estate Appraisers
Association

(916) 764-7535

2024-2025 7-hour National Uspap
Update Course

The Appraisal School, Inc

(818) 715-0943

Current as of November 2023:

Course Providers Offering the Supervisory/Trainee Courses

Supervisory/Trainee Courses

Course Providers

Phone Number

Supervisory Appraiser Trainee
Course

Appraisal Institute

(312) 335-4100

Supervisor Appraiser and Trainee
Course

Dynasty School

(800) 888-8827

Supervisor-Trainee Course for
California

McKissock, LLC

(800) 328-2008

Supervisory Appraiser and Trainee
Appraiser Course

The CE Shop

(262) 565-5369

Supervisory and Trainee Appraiser
Course

West Los Angeles
College

(310) 849-5415



https://www.brea.ca.gov

Enforcement Actions

Enforcement actions are based on the totality of the circumstances and the merits of each matter on a case-
by-case basis, including the nature and severity of the offenses involved, prior disciplinary actions (if any), and
circumstances that support a finding that the offender has been rehabilitated. Violation descriptions may be
partial and summarized due to space limitations. For these reasons, cases may appear similar on the face yet

warrant different sanctions.

For a description of the criteria followed by the Bureau in enforcement matters, refer to Title 10, Article 12
(commencing with section 3721) of the California Code of Regulations. Additional information on the individual
actions is also available on the Bureau’s website, www.brea.ca.gov.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Licensee \cense City of Business Order Discipline
No. .
Effective

Nader Malek 32121 Los Angeles 6/16/2023 Surrender, Monetary Fine

Kenneth Evans 38341 East Garrison 6/16/2023 Stayed Revocation, Probation,
Monetary Fine, Education

Marco Gutierrez 31617 Chino 6/16/2023 Stayed Revocation, Probation,
Monetary Fine, Education

Christopher 21264 Stockton 6/22/2023 Revocation

Wilkinson

AMR Appraisal dba 1253 San Ramon 6/22/2023 Revocation

Got Appraisals

David Perkins 31262 San Diego 7/3/2023 Stayed Revocation, Probation,
Monetary Fine, Education

Thomas S. Smith 37339 San Diego 7/10/2023 Stayed Revocation, Probation,

Monetary Fine, Education



http://www.brea.ca.gov/

Hisashi N. 32446 Vista 7/17/2023 Stayed Revocation, Probation,

Matsumoto Monetary Fine, Education

Min S. Kim 37056 Torrance 7/19/2023 Stayed Revocation, Probation,
Monetary Fine, Education

Michael D. Turner 30968 Sherwood Forest 9/20/2023 Surrender

Kimberly F. 26946 Sarasota 9/20/2023 Stayed Revocation, Probation,

Bellerose Monetary Fine

Jeffery M. Wright 25939 Benicia 10/13/2023 | Surrender

James K. Valdez Jr. 40735 San Leandro 10/13/2023 | Stayed Revocation, Probation,
Monetary Fine, Education

Elizabeth Huang 3003926 | Santa Clara 10/16/2023 | Stayed Suspension, Probation,
Monetary Fine, Education

Daniel Rinsch 29246 Santa Monica 10/13/2023 | Stayed Revocation, Probation,

Education, Costs




Reminders: Failure to Timely Notify the Bureau Can Result in License Discipline

1. Notify the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (Bureau) of any changes to your contact information.
California Code of Regulations section 3527 requires written notification to the Bureau within 10 days of any
change to:

(1) name;

(2) residence or business phone number;

(3) residence, business, or mailing address; or
(4) out of state address;7

(a) Changes to an out of state address requires a Consent to Service of Process form (REA 3006)

Use the Change Notification and Miscellaneous Requests form (REA 3011) available on our website,
www.brea.ca.gov; click on “Forms.” Submit by mail the completed and signed form, the required fee, and any
necessary documentation to:

Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers
3075 Prospect Park Drive, Suite 190
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

Note: Although not a requirement, you can also use form REA 3011 to provide or update your e-mail address,
which will allow the Bureau to send you newsletters and other important information.

2. Notify the Bureau of any convictions, felony charges, or other license discipline. Business and
Professions Code section 11318 requires all licensees, applicants, and course providers report to BREA in
writing within 30 days any of the following:

(1) felony charges;

(2) misdemeanor or felony convictions (including pleas); or

(3) the cancellation, revocation, or suspension of a license, other authority to practice, or refusal
to renew a license or other authority to practice as an occupational or professional license or course
provider, by any other regulatory agency.

If you have questions about these notification requirements, contact the Bureau at
(916) 552-9000.


http://www.brea.ca.gov/

1. List of links and full URLs for DCA Reference

https://icont.ac/4UJpB

https://appraisalfoundation.org/imis/TAF/News/TAF/News PressRoom.aspx?hkey=205b0b4e-80c3-41b3-
al4a-5dd86d6c2190

online complaint

complaint form

To read more about the OCC’s Bank Supervision Operating Plan for 2024, click here
Form 8016 - Request for Live Scan

https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/DOJ 8016.pdf

Business and Professions Code section 11318

10. www.brea.ca.gov

N

w

© oNo O



https://icont.ac/4UJpB
https://appraisalfoundation.org/imis/TAF/News/TAF/News_PressRoom.aspx?hkey=205b0b4e-80c3-41b3-a14a-5dd86d6c2190
https://appraisalfoundation.org/imis/TAF/News/TAF/News_PressRoom.aspx?hkey=205b0b4e-80c3-41b3-a14a-5dd86d6c2190
https://www2.brea.ca.gov/complaint/
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_4001.pdf
https://www.occ.gov/news-issuances/news-releases/2023/nr-occ-2023-109a.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/DOJ_8016.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/DOJ_8016.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/pdf/BP_Codes.pdf
http://www.brea.ca.gov/
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