
BECOME A LICENSED RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER  

SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

A. Non-complex one-to four residential units having a transaction value up to $1,000,000, 

and complex one-to-four residential units having a transaction value up to $400,000. 

Complex one-to-four-unit residential property appraisal means one in which the 

property to be appraised, the form of ownership, or the market conditions are 

atypical. 

B. vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for one-to-four residential units, or for which 

the highest and best use is for one-to-four residential units. 

REQUIREMENTS 

A. Age 

18 years of age or older 

B. Qualifying Education 

1. A minimum of 150 hours of basic/qualifying education of real estate appraisal. 

a. Basic Appraisal Principles        30 Hours  

b. Basic Appraisal Procedures       30 Hours  

c. National USPAP Course (or its equivalent)     15 Hours 

d. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use  15 Hours 

e. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach  15 Hours 

f. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches    30 Hours 

g. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies     15 Hours 

Total 150 Hours 

2. Appraisers holding a valid Trainee appraiser credential may satisfy the 

educational requirements for the licensed residential credential by successfully 

completing the following additional educational hours:  

a. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use  15 Hours 

b. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach  15 Hours 

c. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches    30 Hours 

d. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies     15 Hours 



Total     75 Hours 

C. Additional California Education Requirements for Initial Applicants   

1. AQB/BREA approved Elimination of Bias course    2 Hours  

2. AQB/BREA approved Cultural Competency course    1 Hour  

3. BREA approved Laws and Regulations course     4 Hours 

D. Experience 

1. The residential applicants shall have a minimum of 1,000 hours of real property 

appraisal experience obtained cumulatively over a period of not less than six (6) 

months. 

2. As alternative pathways, the experience gained through AQB approved Licensed 

Residential PAREA program or AQB and/or BREA approved Licensed Residential 

Practicum program shall be accepted for 100% of the experience requirement.  

E. Background 

1. California residing applicants must submit electronic fingerprint via California 

Department of Justice, and applicants residing outside of California must submit 

fingerprint cards through an authorized agency in their state of residence.   

2. A list of authorized Live Scan locations can be found on the Calfornia DOJ website. 

Applicants are responsible for paying the required Live Scan fee at the time of 

fingerprinting. 

  

https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/doj_8016.pdf
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations


FILE YOUR APPLICATION  

A. License Application  

1. Applicants must submit an initial application (REA 3001) form.  

Applicants must use the REA 3002 form to report on the basic education courses.  

2. The applicants must submit a log of appraisal experience using REA 3004.  

3. The applicants must provide appraisal work samples selected by BREA later in the 

process.  

B. Initial Licensed Residential Application Fee  

1. A total of $1035.00 non-refundable fee must be submitted along with the 

application. Dishonored checks will result in an extra $25 fee. Applicants must pay 

the application fee via check or money order made payable to “the Bureau.” 

The check should include the applicant’s full name and the type of fee being 

paid (e.g. Initial Licensed Residential Application fee).  

2. Cash payments are NOT accepted for any type of licensing fee. 

C. National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination  

Upon approval of their applications, the applicants will receive an eligibility letter from 

BREA with instructions to schedule the examination.  

1. Applicants are allowed five attempts to pass the examination within one year 

from the date the Bureau issues the eligibility letter. If the application expires, the 

applicant must submit a new application and pay all applicable fees. 

2. Examination results are only accepted when presented in the official score report 

issued by the examination administrator. 

3. Applicants shall submit Application for License Issuance  (REA 3008) form after 

they pass the examination.  

D. Application Status  

Applicants may track the status of their applications using the Application Status tracker.  

 

https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3001.pdf
https://brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_3002.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3008.pdf
https://www2.brea.ca.gov/breasearch/faces/party/searchApplication.xhtml
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