
UPGRADE: TRAINEE TO A CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER 

SCOPE OF PRACTICE FOR CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL 

A. Any one-to-four family residential properties regardless of the transaction value or 

complexity. 

B. Non-residential property appraisals with a transaction value up to $250,000. 

REQUIREMENTS 

A. Age 

18 years of age or older 

B. College Education 

One of the following must be met: 

1. A bachelor's degree in any field of study from an accredited college or 

university. 

2. An associate's degree in a related field of study (business, finance, accounting, 

economics, or real estate). 

3. Completion of 30 semester hours of college-level courses covering specific 

topic areas: 

a. English Composition (3 semester hours) 

b. Microeconomics (3 semester hours) 

c. Macroeconomics (3 semester hours) 

d. Finance (3 semester hours) 

e. Algebra, Geometry, or higher mathematics (3 semester hours) 

f. Statistics (3 semester hours) 

g. Computer Science (3 semester hours) 

h. Business or Real Estate Law (3 semester hours) 



i. Two elective courses in any of the topics listed above or in accounting, 

geography, agricultural economics, business management, or real estate (3 

semester hours each). 

4. Completion of 30 semester hours of College Level Examination Program (CLEP) 

examinations in specified subject areas. 

5. Any combination of 3 and 4 above that ensures coverage of all required topics. 

6. Holding a Licensed Residential credential for a minimum of five years with no 

record of disciplinary action within the five years immediately preceding the 

application date. 

C. Qualifying Education 

A minimum of 200 hours of basic/qualifying education of real estate appraisal is 

required. Appraisers holding a valid Trainee appraiser credential may satisfy the 

educational requirements for the certified residential credential by successfully 

completing the following additional educational hours: 

a. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use   15 Hours 

b. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach   15 Hours 

c. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches   30 Hours 

d. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies    15 Hours 

e. Statistics, Modeling and Finance      15 Hours 

f. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies   15 Hours 

g. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives      20 Hours 

   Total 125 Hours 

D. Additional California Education Requirements for Certified Residential Applicants 

1. AQB/BREA approved Elimination of Bias course     2 Hours 

2. AQB/BREA approved Cultural Competency course    1 Hour 

3. BREA approved Laws and Regulations course     4 Hours 

  



E. Experience 

1. The certified residential applicants shall have a minimum of 1,500 hours of real 

property appraisal experience obtained cumulatively over a period of not less 

than twelve (12) months. 

2. As alternative pathways, the experience gained through AQB approved 

Certified Residential PAREA program or AQB and/or BREA approved Certified 

Residential Practicum program shall be accepted for 100% of the experience 

requirement. 

3. As alternative pathways, the experience gained through AQB approved 

Residential PAREA program or AQB and/or BREA approved Residential 

Practicum program shall be accepted for 66% of the experience requirement. 

F. Background 

1. California residing applicants must submit electronic fingerprint via California 

Department of Justice, and applicants residing outside of California must submit 

fingerprint cards through an authorized agency in their state of residence. 

2. A list of authorized Live Scan locations can be found on the California DOJ 

website. Applicants are responsible for paying the required Live Scan fee at the 

time of fingerprinting. 

3. Applicants must disclose any past criminal convictions on their license 

application. Failure to disclose a conviction, even if it was dismissed or 

expunged, may result in the denial of licensure or disciplinary action. 

4. Applicants will be required to submit relevant documents for the background 

history review, including final orders, judgments, and a written explanation. 

5. Applicants with a history of criminal convictions may provide evidence of 

rehabilitation. 

  

https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/doj_8016.pdf
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations


FILE YOUR APPLICATION 

A. License Application 

1. License upgrade applicants must submit a license upgrade application (REA 

3023) form. 

2. Applicants must use the REA 3002 form to report on the basic education 

courses. 

3. The applicants must submit a log of appraisal experience using  REA 3004 from.  

4. The applicants must provide appraisal work samples selected by BREA later in 

the process. 

B. College Education Documentation 

1. Submit official transcripts or other documentation showing completion of the 

required college-level education. 

2. Applicants using the five-year Licensed Residential pathway must provide proof 

of license history and disciplinary record. 

C. Certified Residential Application Fee 

1. A total of $1,030.00 non-refundable fee must be submitted along with the 

application. Dishonored checks will result in an extra $25 fee. Applicants must 

pay the application fee via check or money order made payable to "the 

Bureau." The check should include the applicant's full name and the type of fee 

being paid (e.g. Certified Residential Application fee). 

2. Cash payments are NOT accepted for any type of licensing fee. 

D. National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination 

Upon approval of their applications, the applicants will receive an eligibility letter 

from BREA with instructions to schedule the examination. 

1. Applicants are allowed five attempts to pass the examination within one year 

from the date the Bureau issues the eligibility letter. If the application expires, 

the applicant must submit a new application and pay all applicable fees. 

https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3023.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3023.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3002.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3004.pdf


2. Examination results are only accepted when presented in the official score 

report issued by the examination administrator. 

3. Applicants shall submit the Application for License Issuance (REA 3008) after 

they pass the examination. 

E. Application Status 

Applicants may track the status of their applications using the Application Status 

tracker. 

https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3008.pdf
https://www2.brea.ca.gov/breasearch/faces/party/searchApplication.xhtml




Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		2_upgrade_trainee_to_certified_residential_appraiser.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 0



		Passed manually: 2



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 0



		Passed: 30



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Passed manually		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Passed manually		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Passed		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top

