BECOME A CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER

SCOPE OF PRACTICE

Any one to four family properties regardless of the transaction value or complexity and

non-residential property up to $250,000.

REQUIREMENTS

A. Age

18 years of age or older

B. College-Level Education

College level education (see Section D. College Education Criteria under Qualifying

Education Criteria and a minimum of 200 hours of basic/qualifying education of real

estate appraisal.

C. Qualifying Education

1. A minimum of 200 hours of basic/qualifying education of real estate appraisal:

a. Basic Appraisal Principles 30 Hours
b. Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 Hours
c. National USPAP Course (or its equivalent) 15 Hours
d. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 Hours
e. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 Hours
f. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 30 Hours
g. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 15 Hours
h. Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 Hours
i. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 Hours
j.  Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 Hours

Total 200 Hours


https://www.brea.ca.gov/pdf/qualifying_education_criteria.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/pdf/qualifying_education_criteria.pdf

2. Appraisers holding a valid Trainee appraiser credential may satisfy the

educational requirements for the licensed residential credential by successfully

completing the following additional educational hours:

a. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies

Statistics, Modeling and Finance

"0 00 O

Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies

Appraisal Subject Matter Electives

@

Total

15 Hours
15 Hours
30 Hours
15 Hours
15 Hours
15 Hours
20 Hours
125 hours

3. Appraisers holding a valid Licensed Residential credential may satisfy the

educational requirements for the licensed residential credential by successfully

completing the following additional educational hours:
a. Statistics, Modeling and Finance
b. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies
c. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives
Total

D. Additional Cdlifornia Education Reguirements for Initial Applicants

1. AQB/BREA approved Elimination of Bias course
2. AQB/BREA approved Cultural Competency course

3. BREA approved Laws and Regulations course

E. Experience

15 Hours
15 Hours
20 Hours
50 Hours

2 Hours
1 Hour

4 Hours

1. The certified residential applicants shall have a minimum of 1,500 hours of real

property appraisal experience obtained cumulatively over a period of not less

than twelve (12) months.

2. While the hours may be cumulative, the required number of months must accrue

before an individual can be certified.

F. Background



1.

California residing applicants must submit electronic fingerprints via California
Department of Justice, and applicants residing outside of California must submit
fingerprint cards through an authorized agency in their state of residence.

A list of authorized Live Scan locations can be found on the California DOJ
website. Applicants are responsible for paying the required Live Scan fee at the
time of fingerprinting.

Applicants with a history of criminal convictions may provide evidence of

rehabilitation.



FILE YOUR APPLICATION

A. License Application

1.

Initial applicants must submit an initial application form (REA Form 3001).

2. Applicants must use the REA 3002 form to report on the basic education courses.
3.
4

. The applicants must provide appraisal work samples selected by BREA Ilater in the

The applicants must submit a log of appraisal experience using REA 3004.

process.

B. Initial Certified General Application Fee

1.

2.

A total of $1,030.00 non-refundable fee must be submitted along with the
application. Dishonored checks will result in an extra $25 fee. Applicants must
pay the application fee via check or money order made payable to "the
Bureau." The check should include the applicant's full name and the type of fee
being paid (e.g. Initial Certified General Application fee).

Cash payments are NOT accepted for any type of licensing fee.

C. National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination

Upon approval of their applications, the applicants will receive an eligibility letter from

BREA with instructions to schedule the examination.

. Applicants are allowed five attempts to pass the examination within every one

year from the date the Bureau issues the eligibility letter. If the application expires,
the applicant must submit a new application and pay all applicable fees.
Examination results are only accepted when presented in the official score report
issued by the examination administrator.

Applicants shall submit Application for License Issuance (REA 3008) after they

pass the examination.

D. Application Status

Applicants may frack the status of their applications using the Application Status

tfracker.


https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_3001.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_3002.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_3004.pdf
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_3008.pdf
https://www2.brea.ca.gov/breasearch/faces/party/searchApplication.xhtml
https://www2.brea.ca.gov/breasearch/faces/party/searchApplication.xhtml
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