State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers

Regulatory Action:

Title 10, California Code of Regulations

Amend sections: 3541, 3568

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY ACTION

Government Code Section 11349.3

OAL Matter Number: 2023-1130-04

OAL Matter Type: Regular Resubmittal (SR)

This action by the by the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers ("Bureau") amends existing regulations that concern real estate appraisal licenses issued by the Bureau. The amendments will allow license applicants to complete a Practical Applications of Real Estate ("PAREA") program approved by the Appraisal Qualifications Board to satisfy a percentage of the experience requirement depending on the PAREA program completed and the license level being applied for. In addition, the amendments reduce the educational requirement for trainee licenses from 150 hours to 75 hours. The Bureau also made technical and grammatical nonsubstantive changes.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 1/3/2024.

Date:

January 3, 2024

Stephen P. Mehlert

Senior Attorney

For:

Kenneth J. Pogue

Director

Original: Angela G. Jemmott, Bureau

Chief

Copy:

Whitney Spatz

NOTICE PUBLICATION/RESULATIONS UBDISSION									For use by Secretary of State only	
STD. 400 (REV. 10/2)	019)			- THE REAL PROPERTY.	CALLED BY	an 63 63 63				
OAL FILE NUMBERS	NOTICE FILE NUMBER	0	Control of the Contro	TORY ACTION N		0-04	A .	RGENCY NUMBER		
NOWIDENS	Z- 2023-0519-0					w (OAL) only	SI	4		
	·	or doc i	by Cilioc Of		re La	W (O/IL) Only				
									ENDORSED - FILED in the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California	
						OFFICE OF ADMIN, LAW				IAN 3 2021
					2023 NOV. 30, 4:30PM					JAN . J 2024
					5, T.30 P.M					1:520-m-
										1.30-7
	NOTICE		REGULATIONS							
	RULEMAKING AUTHORITY ent of Consumer A	Affairs.	Bureau c	f Real Est	ate	Appraisers				AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any)
	30 V - 10		Antimophysics III Am							
	CATION OF NOT	ICE (C	omplete	170		on in Notic				
1. suвject of Notice License Requirements				20 10	TITLE(S)			FIRST SECTION AFFECTED 3541		2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE June 2, 2023
3. NOTICE TYPE 4. AGENCY CO					NTACT PERSON			TELEPHONE NUMBER		FAX NUMBER (Optional)
■ Notice re Proposed Regulatory Action Other Whitney					Spatz			916.610.9927		
OAL USE	ACTION ON PROPOSED Approved as		approved as			Disapproved/	NOT	ICE REGISTER NU	MBER	PUBLICATION DATE
ONLY	Submitted	N	Modified		\vdash	Withdrawn				
B. SUBMI	ISSION OF REGL	ILATIO	ONS (Con	nplete wh	en s	submitting	regu	ılations)		
1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S) 1b. ALL PREVIOUS RELATED									DAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S)	
License R	equirements							2023-0908	-03S	
2. SPECIFY CAL	LIFORNIA CODE OF REGUL	ATIONS TI	ITLE(S) AND SE	ECTION(S) (Incl	luding	title 26, if toxics r	related)			
	(S) AFFECTED	ADOPT								
(List all section number(s) individually. Attach										
additional sheet if needed.) 3541 & 3568										
TITLE(S)		REPEAL	9							
3. TYPE OF FIL	ING									
Regular F	Rulemaking (Gov.					officer named	ПЕ	mergency Reado	pt	Changes Without
Code §11346)					gency complied with the Gov. Code, §11346.1(h)) §§11346.2-11347.3 either					Regulatory Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title 1, §100)
or withdrawn nonemergency before the emergency re					gulation was adopted or					
11349.4)					The & Fillit				Print Only	
Emergen §11346.1	cy (Gov. Code,			approved or w Gov. Code, §:				Other (Specify)		
	10.69	F AVAILAB	BILITY OF MOD	IFIED REGULAT	TIONS	AND/OR MATERIA	AL ADDI	ED TO THE RULEMA	AKING FILE (Ca	al. Code Regs. title 1, §44 and Gov. Code §11347.1
	ed Text 7/24/23 - 8/8/3	(14.0)	631774 - M.S. 617 - M.S. 627	-14 N. CONTROL V. CONTROL V. CONTROL	207/002	12 ADDITION THE PARTY OF THE PA	d Con	nment Period 1	1/8/23 - 11/	23/23
Effective	DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. C January 1, April 1, July 1 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a	, or	Effective	d); Cal. Code Re on filing with y of State		le 1, §100)]§100 Changes Regulatory Effe		ut Effective of (Specify)	ther	
	ESE REGULATIONS REQU				ATION	,			HER AGENCY	OR ENTITY
★ Departme	ent of Finance (Form STD). 399) (S	AM §6660)			Fair Political P	ractices	s Commission		State Fire Marshal
Cther (Sp	pecify) Kimberly Kirc	hmeyer,	Director, De	partment of (Consi	umer Affairs	5	Lake tirelown		
7. CONTACT PE				100000		E NUMBER		FAX NUMBER (C	optional)	E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional)
Whitney S		r.11				0.9927				whitney.spatz@brea.ca.gov
8. I certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is									For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only	
of the regulation(s) identified on this form, that the information specified on this form is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action,									ORSED APPROVED	
	gnee of the head of							cation.		
SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD OR DESIGNEE					DATE					JAN 0 3 2024
hazela Junnett					11/27/23					VIII W. S. ESE
TYPED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATORY Angela Jemmott, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Real					Totata Appraia				Offic	e of Administrative Law
Angela Je	mmott, Bureau C	niet, Bi	ureau of F	keai Estate	e Ap	praisers			Jilly	

ALEXANDER OF

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS TITLE 10. BUREAU OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

ORDER OF ADOPTION License Requirements

Amend Section 3541 of Article 3 and Section 3568 of Article 4 of Chapter 6.5 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

§ 3541. Minimum Experience Requirements.

- (a) To meet the minimum experience requirements, certified general applicants shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of real property appraisal experience obtained cumulatively over a period of not less than 18 months. Of the 3,000 hours, certified general applicants must have a minimum of 1,500 hours of non-residential appraisal experience.
- (b) To meet the minimum experience requirements, certified residential applicants shall have a minimum of 1,500 hours of real property appraisal experience obtained cumulatively over a period of not less than 12 months.
- (c) To meet the minimum experience requirements, residential applicants shall have a minimum of 1,000 hours of real property appraisal experience obtained cumulatively over a period of not less than 6 months.
- (d) A holder of a valid real estate broker license shall be deemed to have completed appraisal license application experience requirements upon substantiation that he or she the license holder has accumulated 1,000 hours of experience in the valuation of real property.
 - (1) Appraisers licensed pursuant to subsection (d) who have not provided the Bureau with substantiation of the minimum 1,000 hours of real property appraisal experience are not in compliance with minimum AQB licensing criteria. Accordingly, such appraisers do not hold a federally recognized credential, are not authorized to perform federally related real estate appraisal activity as defined in Business and Professions Code section 11302(is), and will not be reported to ASC for inclusion on the National Registry.
- (e) The following are requirements for appraisal experience:
 - Only appraisals that conform to USPAP may be credited for purposes of meeting the minimum experience requirements; and
 - (2) Only appraisals performed for a business purpose (e.g., loans, litigation, etc.)

may be credited for purposes of meeting the minimum experience requirements, except for experience gained through case studies and practicum courses programs that are approved by the AQB Course Approval Program or the Bureau. Experience gained through case studies and practicum courses may be credited for no more than 50 percent of the total minimum experience requirement. Experience credit shall be granted for the actual classroom hours of instruction and hours of documented research and analysis as awarded from the practicum program approval process.

(f) Applicants who successfully complete a Practical Applications of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) program approved by the AQB shall receive the following experience credit:

- (1) After completion of an approved licensed residential PAREA program:
 - A. <u>Licensed residential applicants shall receive 100 percent of the required</u> experience hours.
 - B. Certified residential applicants shall receive 67 percent of the required experience hours.
 - C. Certified general applicants shall receive 33 percent of the total experience, none of which is eligible towards the required non-residential hours.
- (2) After competition of an approved certified residential PAREA program:
 - A. <u>Licensed residential applicants shall receive 100 percent of the required</u> experience hours.
 - B. Certified residential applicants shall receive 100 percent of the required experience hours.
 - C. Certified general applicants shall receive 50 percent of the required experience hours, none of which is eligible towards the required non-residential hours.
- (3) For purposes of this section, the following terms are defined as:
 - A. "Licensed residential" means a residential level license.
 - B. "Certified residential" means a certified residential level license.
 - C. "Certified general" means a certified general level license.

- (4) Only appraisals performed for a business purpose (e.g., loans, litigation, etc.) may be credited for purposes of meeting the minimum experience requirements, except for experience gained through PAREA programs that are approved by the AQB.
- (f)(g) Each applicant shall meet those requirements established by the AQB.
- (h) The Bureau will randomly audit AQB-approved or Bureau-approved practicum programs and PAREA programs to ensure appraisal compliance with USPAP and may provide suggestions to the practicum program or PAREA program if any USPAP noncompliance is identified.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 11313, 11314 and 11340, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 11340, Business and Professions Code.

- § 3568. Trainee Licenses and Supervising Appraiser Responsibilities.
- (a) To obtain a Trainee License, an applicant shall satisfy the following minimum education requirements:
 - (1) Education:
 - (A) (1) Completion of basic education that covers the minimum number of hours and specific topics required by AQB for a residential level trainee license and meets the minimum requirements of Section 3542;
 - (B) 15 hours of USPAP which consists of the 15 hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent; and
 - (C) (2) Completion of a BREA approved course that, at a minimum, complies with the specifications for course content established by the AQB, which is specifically oriented to the requirements and responsibilities of supervising appraisers and trainee appraisers. The course is not eligible towards the qualifying education required to obtain the license-; and
 - (D) (3) All education shall be completed within the five-year period immediately preceding the date the application was received by the Bureau.
- (b) To accrue acceptable experience, for a Residential or Certified Residential License, trainee licensees shall:
 - (1) Acquire experience pursuant to Section 3541-;

- (2) Work under the direct technical supervision of an appraiser licensed at the certified level and in good standing-; and
- (3) Maintain an appraisal log in conformance with the requirements of Section 3563.
- (c) Trainees shall maintain copies of appraisal reports which appear on the log- and
- (d) Trainees shall comply with the continuing education requirements of Section 3543.
- (e)(d) The sSupervising appraisers shall be required to:
 - (1) Personally inspect the property with the trainee until the trainee is competent to make unsupervised inspections in accordance with the Competency Rule of USPAP for the type of property being appraised;
 - (2) Review the trainee's appraisal report;
 - (3) Accept responsibility for the appraisal report by signing and certifying that the report is in compliance with USPAP;
 - (4) Review and initial each page of the trainee's Log of Appraisal Experience Form REA 3004 (Rev. 01/01/2023) and verify under penalty of perjury that the work was completed under the supervising appraiser's supervision; and
 - (5) Maintain records of the trainee's appraisals in accordance with USPAP.
- (f)(e) Supervising appraisers shall meet the following requirements:
 - (1) Be licensed at the certified level for a minimum of three years with the Bureau prior to being eligible to become a supervising appraiser;
 - (2) Be in good standing with the Bureau for a period of at least three years;
 - (3) Not supervise more than three trainees at one time;
 - (4) Not be subject to any disciplinary action within any jurisdiction within the last three years, that affects the supervisor's legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice; and
 - (5) Complete a BREA approved course that, at a minimum, complies with the specifications for course content established by the AQB and that is specifically oriented to the requirements and responsibilities of supervising appraisers and trainee appraisers. The course shall be completed by the supervising appraiser prior to supervising trainee appraisers.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 11313, 11314, 11327 and 11340, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 11341, Business and Professions Code.