
  
    

 

 

 

   

  

 

          

             

 

 

      

    
 

  

 

            

    

 

   

 

        

         

       

        

 

  

 

        

        

 

 

 

         

 

 

 

     

State of California 
Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers Revised April 1, 2020 

Upgrade Requirements 

The following sections list the requirements for upgrading a license based on the applicant’s 

current license level to the license level requested on the upgrade application (REA 3023): 

Trainee Licensed Prior to January 1, 2008, 

Upgrading to Residential License 

Basic Education 

75 hours of additional education (Required Core Curriculum). Education must include, at a 

minimum, the following modules: 

Hours Module 

15 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 

15 hours Residential Appraisal Site Valuation and Cost Approach 

30 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 

15 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 

Continuing Education 

4 hours California approved federal and state laws and regulations 

7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update 

Experience 

1,000 hours of experience completed in no less than 6 months. 

Examination 

Pass the examination for residential license. 
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Upgrade Requirements Revised April 1, 2020 

Trainee Licensed After January 1, 2008, 

Upgrading to Residential License 

Basic Education 

Trainee licenses issued after January 1, 2008 have met the minimum education (Required 

Core Curriculum) requirements of a residential license. 

Continuing Education 

4 hours California approved federal and state laws and regulations 

7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update 

Experience 

1,000 hours of experience completed in no less than 6 months. 

Examination 

Pass the examination for residential license. 
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Upgrade Requirements Revised April 1, 2020 

Trainee Licensed Prior to January 1, 2008, 

Upgrading to Certified Residential License 

Basic Education 

125 hours of additional Education (Required Core Curriculum) and completing one of the 

college level education options listed on the last page of this document*. Education must 

include, at a minimum, the following modules: 

Hours Module 

15 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 

15 hours Residential Appraisal Site Valuation and Cost Approach 

30 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 

15 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 

15 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance 

15 hours Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 

20 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 

Continuing Education 

4 hours California approved federal and state laws and regulations 

7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update 

Experience 

1,500 hours of experience completed in no less than 12 months. 

Examination 

Pass the examination for certified residential license. 
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Upgrade Requirements Revised April 1, 2020 

Trainee Licensed After January 1, 2008, or Residential 

Upgrading to Certified Residential License 

Basic Education 

50 hours of additional acceptable education (Required Core Curriculum) and completing one of 

the college level education options listed on the last page of this document*. Education must 

include, at a minimum, the following modules: 

Hours Module 

15 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance 

15 hours Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 

20 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 

Continuing Education 

4 hours California approved federal and state laws and regulations 

7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update 

Experience 

1,500* hours of experience completed in no less than 12 months. 

Examination 

Pass the examination for certified residential license. 

* Hours from previous approved logs may count towards hours needed. 
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Upgrade Requirements Revised April 1, 2020 

Trainee Licensed Prior to January 1, 2008, 

Upgrading to Certified General License 

Basic Education 

225 hours of additional education (Required Core Curriculum) and evidence of a bachelor’s 
degree or higher from an accredited college or university. Education must include, at a 

minimum, the following modules: 

Hours Module 

15 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance 

30 hours General Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 

30 hours General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 

30 hours General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 

60 hours General Appraiser Income Approach 

30 hours General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 

30 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 

Continuing Education 

4 hours California approved federal and state laws and regulations 

7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update 

Experience 

3,000 hours of experience completed in no less than of 18 months. At least 1,500 hours must 

be experience in non-residential properties. 

Examination 

Pass the examination for certified general license. 
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Upgrade Requirements Revised April 1, 2020 

Trainee Licensed After January 1, 2008; or Residential 

Upgrading to Certified General License 

Basic Education 

150 hours of additional education (Required Core Curriculum) and evidence of a bachelor’s 
degree or higher from an accredited college or university. Education must include, at a 

minimum, the following modules: 

Hours Module 

15 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance 

15 hours General Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 

15 hours General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 

15 hours General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 

45 hours General Appraiser Income Approach 

15 hours General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 

30 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 

Continuing Education 

4 hours California approved federal and state laws and regulations 

7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update 

Experience 

3,000* hours of experience completed in no less than 18 months. At least 1,500 hours must 

be experience in non-residential properties. 

Examination 

Pass the examination for certified general license. 

* Hours from previous approved logs may count towards hours needed. 
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Upgrade Requirements Revised April 1, 2020 

Certified Residential Upgrading to Certified General 

Basic Education 

100 hours of additional education (Required Core Curriculum) and evidence of a bachelor’s 
degree or higher from an accredited college or university. Education must include, at a 

minimum, the following modules: 

Hours Module 

15 hours General Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 

15 hours General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 

15 hours General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 

45 hours General Appraiser Income Approach 

10 hours General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 

Continuing Education 

4 hours California approved federal and state laws and regulations 

7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update 

Experience 

3,000* hours of experience completed in no less than 18 months. At least 1,500 hours must 

be experience in non-residential properties. 

Examination 

Pass the examination for certified general license. 

* Hours from previous approved logs may count towards hours needed. 
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College Level Education Options for Certified Residential

Upgrade Requirements Revised April 1, 2020 

* College Level Education Options for Certified Residential 

Option #1 Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university in any field of study 

Option #2 Associate degree from an accredited college or university in a field of study 

related to: 

Business Administration, Accounting, Finance, Economics or Real Estate 

Option #3 Successful completion of 30 semester units of college-level courses from an 

accredited college or university that cover each of the following specific topic 

areas and are at least 3 units each: 

(1) English Composition; (2) Microeconomics; (3) Macroeconomics; (4) Finance; 

(5) Algebra, Geometry or Higher Math; (6) Statistics ; (7) Computer Science; (8) 

Business Law or Real Estate Law; (9)(10) Two elective courses in any of the 

above topics, or in: Accounting, Geography, Agricultural Economics, Business 

Management, or Real Estate 

Option #4 Successful completion of at least 30 semester units of College Level Examination 

Program® (CLEP®) examinations that cover each of the specific topic areas in 

Option #3 (see Equivalency Table below **) 

Option #5 Any combination of Option #3 and Option #4 that includes all of the topics 

identified in Option #3. 

Option #6 No college-level education required. This option applies only to appraisers who 

have held a Licensed Residential credential for a minimum of five (5) years and 

have no record of any adverse, final and non-appealable disciplinary action 

affecting the Licensed Residential appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in the 
appraisal practice within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date the 

application is received for a Certified Residential credential. 

** College Level Examination Program® (CLEP®) Equivalency Table 

CLEP® Exams 

CLEP® 

Semester Units 

Granted 

Applicable College Courses 

College Algebra 3 
Algebra, Geometry, Statistics, or higher 

mathematics 

College Composition 6 English Composition 

College Composition Modular 3 English Composition 

College Mathematics 6 
Algebra, Geometry, Statistics, or higher 

mathematics 

Principles of Macroeconomics 3 Macroeconomics or Finance 

Principles of Microeconomics 3 Microeconomics or Finance 

Introductory Business Law 3 Business Law or Real Estate Law 

Computer Science 3 Information Systems 
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