Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (Bureau) - Licensing Handbook

Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (Bureau) Background

In 1989, Title XI of the federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act (FIRREA) was enacted by Congress, mandating all states to license real estate appraisers who appraise real property in federally related transactions.

In response to the federal mandate, the Real Estate Appraisers' Licensing and Certification law was passed by the California Legislature in 1990 (AB 527, Chapter 491 of 1990). The law charged the Bureau with licensing real estate appraisers in the State of California and enforcing national ethical and professional standards and qualifications that comply with the mandate.

Effective January 1, 2010, California law (Chapter 173, Statutes of 2009) required the registration of Appraisal Management Companies (AMC) with the Bureau. This handbook details the procedures for appraiser licensing only and not for AMC registration. Please refer to the Bureau website for AMC laws, regulations, registration forms, and instructions.

Mission

Safeguard public trust by promoting professionalism in the real estate appraisal industry through licensing, education, and enforcement.

Program Components

The Bureau consists of two primary functions - Licensing and Enforcement.

The Licensing Unit ensures that applicants for appraisal licenses meet minimum requirements for education, experience, and examination that comply with federal mandates and ensure that only qualified persons are licensed to conduct appraisals in federally related real estate loan transactions.

The Enforcement Unit investigates complaints of violations of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) and ensures that licensees adhere to all applicable laws and regulations.

Purpose of the Licensing Handbook

This handbook was revised in 2020. It is designed to assist applicants for licensure. You should use it in conjunction with instructions and requirements listed on the application forms. The Bureau has made every effort to ensure that the information is current and accurate as of April 1, 2020; however, as with any program, changes may occur and subsequent laws or regulations may cause some of the information it contains to become out-of-date. The reader should consult current statutes, regulations and rules, which prevail over any information contained in this handbook.


Summary of Each License Level

There are four levels of real estate appraiser licensing:


Education Requirements Table
Bureau License Levels Education Requirements* Experience Requirements Scope of Practice
Trainee (AT) 150 hours, covering specific modules including the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB). Trainee applicants must also complete an approved Supervisory/ Trainee Appraisers course prior to obtaining a Trainee Appraiser license. All initial applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license. None Any property which the supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.
Residential (AL) 150 hours, covering specific modules including the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent as determined by the AQB). All initial and reciprocal applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license. 1,000 hours and encompassing no less than 6 months of acceptable appraisal experience. Any non-complex 1-4 family property with a transaction value up to $1 million; and non-residential property with a transaction value up to $250,000.
Certified Residential (AR) 200 hours, covering specific modules, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course and meeting the criteria of one of the options listed in the next table labeled “College Level Education Options for Certified Residential”. All initial and reciprocal applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license. 1,500 hours and encompassing no less than 12 months of acceptable appraisal experience. Any 1-4 family property without regard to transaction value or complexity; and non-residential property with a transaction value up to $250,000.
Certified General (AG) 300 hours, covering specific modules, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course; and a Bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university. All initial and reciprocal applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license. 3,000 hours and encompassing no less than 18 months of acceptable appraisal experience, of which 1,500 hours must be non-residential. All real estate without regard to transaction value or complexity.

College Level Education Options for Certified Residential
College Level Education Options for Certified Residential
Option #1 Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited college or university in any field of study
Option #2 Associate’s Degree from an accredited college or university in a field of study related to: Business Administration, Accounting, Finance, Economics; or Real Estate
Option #3 Successful completion of 30 semester units of college-level courses from an accredited college or university that cover each of the following specific topic areas and are at least 3 units each: (1) English Composition; (2) Microeconomics; (3) Macroeconomics; (4) Finance; (5) Algebra, Geometry or Higher Math; (6) Statistics ; (7) Computer Science; (8) Business Law or Real Estate Law; (9)(10) Two elective courses in any of the above topics, or in: Accounting, Geography, Agricultural Economics, Business Management, or Real Estate
Option #4 Successful completion of at least 30 semester units of College Level Examination Program® (CLEP®) examinations that cover each of the specific topic areas in Option #3 (see Equivalency Table below).
Option #5 Any combination of Option #3 and Option #4 that includes all of the topics identified in Option #3.
Option #6 No college-level education required if an appraiser has held a Licensed Residential credential for a minimum of five (5) years and have no record of any adverse, final and non-appealable disciplinary action affecting the Licensed Residential appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in the appraisal practice within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date the application is received for a Certified Residential credential.

College Level Examination Program® (CLEP®) Equivalency Table
College Level Examination Program® (CLEP®) Equivalency Table
CLEP® Exams CLEP® Semester Units Granted Applicable College Courses
College Algebra 3 Algebra, Geometry, Statistics, or higher mathematics
College Composition 6 English Composition
College Composition Modular 3 English Composition
College Mathematics 6 Algebra, Geometry, Statistics, or higher mathematics
Principles of Macroeconomics 3 Macroeconomics or Finance
Principles of Microeconomics 3 Microeconomics or Finance
Introductory Business Law 3 Business Law or Real Estate Law
Computer Science 3 Information Systems

*Degrees and college credit must be from an accredited college or university.

See the Initial Education Requirements document to identify the specific courses required for each license level.


Qualifying College Level Education

College education requirements are a fundamental component of the license qualification criteria. Applicants for a Residential license do not need to complete any college-level education. Applicants for a Certified Residential license now have six options to meet the education requirements. Please review the Summary of Each License Level and College Level Education Options for Certified Residential tables for details.

The requirements also apply to existing real property appraisers seeking to update a license.

Supervisory and Trainee Appraisers

Additional Upgrade Applicant Requirements

Effective January 1, 2020, the Bureau will now issue an upgraded license for two years and restart the Continuing Education (CE) Cycle. In order to upgrade a credential for the new two years, applicants must submit the following additional requirements below:

APPLICATION PROCEDURES

The Bureau processes five types of applications. They are:

The basic procedures for real estate appraiser licensing are:

• Submission of the application package, including but not limited to the following:

  1. Forms
  2. Fees; located on the Licensing Fee Chart
  3. Education
  4. Experience
  5. Background information for criminal records check

• Examination process (Upgrade and Initial AL, AR and AG only):

  1. Admission to Examination Letter sent after the initial evaluation of the application
  2. Scheduling of the examination by applicant contacting the examination provider
  3. Payment of examination fee by applicant (paid directly to exam provider)

• Submission of license issuance request, including all of the following:

  1. Application for Issuance of a License (REA 3008)
  2. Examination results showing successful completion.
  3. True and correct, unaltered and nonredacted copies of the work samples that the Bureau requests for examination.

State and federal laws provide that applicants must meet minimum education and experience requirements and pass an examination prior to being licensed to perform real estate appraisals in federally related transactions. Education requirements include appropriate knowledge of the English language including reading, writing, spelling, and knowledge of arithmetic computations common to real estate and appraisal practices.

Every fact requested in the application is necessary and required to determine eligibility for licensure. An applicant must disclose the requested information, including any criminal convictions, on the application. Failure or refusal to provide any fact or information requested in the application may result in the application being rejected as incomplete or may subject the applicant to sanctions including, but not limited to, the denial of an application.

NOTE: Before issuing a license, the Bureau must complete a background review and perform a delinquent court-ordered child support review.

Exam

All applicants have one year to qualify for the examination from the date the application was received. The Bureau shall not grant extensions from this date.

All applicants who qualify for the examination have one year and up to five tries to pass the examination.

All applicants who successfully pass an examination have one year from the day they passed to request issuance of their license.

Minimum Age

Licensees must be at least 18 years of age.

Payment of Fees

Application fees must be paid by credit card, preprinted personal or company check, certified check, cashier's check or money order. See the Licensing Fee Chart for current fees.

Active Duty Military or Spouses/Domestic Partners thereof:

Renewal requirements (e.g., fees and continuing education) are waived for those whose license term is set to expire while on active duty as a member of the United States Armed Forces or California National Guard. If the licensee wishes to maintain their license while on active duty, the licensee will need to submit the Renewal Application (REA 3012) along with their active duty paperwork as proof. The licensee will not be able to engage in any activities requiring a license for appraising.

Once the licensee is no longer on active duty, they have 60 days to notify the Bureau to get their full license back with no restrictions. After this notification, the licensee will have up to six months to submit proof of all the fees and continuing education that were required prior to the licensee being called to active duty. During the first 90 days of the six month time frame the licensee will be in compliance with federal criteria; however, if the licensee does not complete the continuing education within the first 90 days, the remaining time on the license will not meet federal minimum standards. The license will be reissued with an overstamp that will say “This credential is not recognized for the purpose of federally related transactions.”

The licensure process is expedited for applicants who hold a current appraiser license in another state and are married to, or in a domestic partnership ,or other legal union with an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces who is assigned to a duty station in California. For questions or clarification call (916) 552-9000.

Initial Application

This section applies to applicants who are applying for the first time or for individuals previously licensed who are no longer eligible to renew. Applicants may apply at any level of licensure for which they meet the requirements.

To apply for an initial license, applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

*The Bureau processes applicant fingerprints via Live Scan for California residents. If the applicant resides outside of the state, fingerprints must be rolled and submitted on two FD-258 fingerprint cards with the application.

Once an application is reviewed, the Bureau will issue a letter informing the applicant of eligibility to take your exam along with the Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) identification number that is required to schedule your exam. Upon successful completion of the exam, applicants then submit all of the following (not required for Trainee level):

The expiration date of an appraiser license is normally two years from the date of issuance.

Renewal Process

This section applies to licensees who are applying for renewal of their license.

The term of a California real estate appraiser license is two years. All licensed appraisers must meet minimum continuing education requirements before renewing their license. A total of 56 hours of continuing education is required during the four-year continuing education cycle including the following mandatory courses for all licenses:

"USPAP Only" Renewal Application

To apply for renewal of a license after the first two years of the continuing education cycle, applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

Full Continuing Education Renewal Application

To apply for renewal of a license at the end of the continuing education cycle (on time every four years), applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

Once the application is approved, a new certificate will be issued. Typically, the expiration date of a license is two years from the date of issuance.

On-Line Renewals

Licensees can submit most renewals online. The existing license must be current and in good standing. Licenses cannot be renewed if the expiration date is more than six months away. Online renewal is not available for licensees who live out of state or those whose license has been suspended, resigned, revoked, or have had their right to renew revoked. Those who are subject to Enforcement monitoring are also ineligible to use the online renewal. Go to the Online Renewal Application to renew online.

Late Renewals

Applications are considered late if postmarked after the expiration date of the license or if any of the required continuing education is completed after the expiration date of the license.

NOTE: Appraisers whose licenses have expired cannot legally perform appraisals in federally related transactions until the license is renewed.

 

Upgrade Application

This section describes the process for applying to upgrade a current California license to a higher level.

Effective January 1, 2020 an upgraded license will be valid for two years (provided new fees and new education requirements have been met) from the issuance date. Licensees no longer need to renew the lower license level in order to have the upgrade application processed.

To upgrade a license to a higher level, licensees must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

 

Reciprocal License

Applicants who have an active license in good standing in another state and who apply for a California license may apply by using the Reciprocal Application process. The applicant is not required to take the California examination if:

To apply for an Reciprocal License, applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

* Fingerprints are processed via Live Scan for California residents. If the applicant resides out-of-state, fingerprints must be rolled on two FD-258 fingerprint cards with the application.

 

Temporary Practice Permit

Appraisers who hold a an active license in good standing in another state may apply for a Temporary Practice Permit to perform real property appraisal assignments in California.

The following are general guidelines regarding Temporary Practice Permits:

A Temporary Practice Permit is not required if:

To receive a Temporary Practice Permit, licensed out-of-state appraisers must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

 

On-Line Temporary Practice Permits

You can submit most requests for a Temporary Practice Permit on-line.

For questions or clarification call (916) 552-9000.

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

There are two types of education used to meet licensing requirements:

Basic Education Requirements

All applicants must meet the basic education requirements before they can qualify for licensure.

Minimum Basic Education Requirements

To qualify for an appraiser license, applicants will have to complete a core curriculum for each license level as documented in Appendix A. Applicants must complete a minimum number of acceptable hours and specific modules (see Basic Education Modules in Appendix B) as required by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB).

All applicants must successfully complete a 15-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course or its equivalent as determined by the AQB.

The required number of basic education hours for each licensing level is as follows:

BASIC EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
LICENSE LEVEL BASIC EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS*
Trainee (AT) 150 hours, including a 15-Hour National USPAP Course.
→ Trainee applicants must also complete an approved Supervisory/Trainee Appraisers course prior to obtaining a Trainee Appraiser license. The Supervisory/Trainee Appraisers course is not eligible towards the 150 hours of qualifying education. All initial applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 150 hours of qualifying education.
→ All initial applicants must complete an approved state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 150 hours of qualifying education.
NOTE: Course work for the Trainee level license taken more than 5 years prior to the application date is not acceptable.
Residential (AL) 150 hours, including the 15-hour National USPAP. All initial applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 150 hours of qualifying education.
→ All initial applicants must complete an approved state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 150 hours of qualifying education.
Certified Residential (AR)

200 hours, covering specific modules, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course and meeting the criteria of one of the options listed in table labeled “College Level Education Options for Certified Residential” (under the Summary of Each License Level). All initial applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 200 hours of qualifying education.
→ All initial applicants must complete an approved state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 200 hours of qualifying education.
Certified General (AG) 300 hours, including a 15-Hour National USPAP Course and a Bachelor's Degree or higher. All initial applicants must complete an approved California state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 300 hours of qualifying education.
→ All initial applicants must complete an approved state and federal laws course prior to obtaining a license; this course is not eligible towards the 300 hours of qualifying education.

*Degrees and college credit must be from an accredited college or university.

 

Basic Education Requirements to Upgrade a License

The following education is required to upgrade a license to a higher classification (see Handbook section above regarding qualification changes).

  Trainee Licensees Upgrading to: Residential Licensees Upgrading to: Certified Residential Licensees Upgrading to:
Residential License Certified Residential License Certified General License Certified Residential License Certified General License Certified General
License
Evidence of Education or a Degree from an accredited college or university required: See “College Level Education Options for Certified Residential” (under the Summary of Each License Level) Bachelor's Degree See “College Level Education Options for Certified Residential” (under the Summary of Each License Level) Bachelor's Degree Bachelor's Degree
Additional hours of acceptable education required:

 

Must include at a minimum the following modules:

50 hours

150 hours 50 hours 150 hours 100 hours
Residential Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use
Residential Appraisal Site Valuation and Cost Approach

Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies
Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 15 hours 15 hours 15 hours
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours 15 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours 30 hours 20 hours 30 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours 30 hours 20 hours 30 hours
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 15 hours 15 hours 15 hours
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 15 hours 15 hours 15 hours
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 15 hours 15 hours
General Appraiser Income Approach 45 hours 45 hours 45 hours
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 15 hours 15 hours 10 hours

NOTE: Basic education courses taken to upgrade a license can count toward continuing education when the course is taken within the four-year continuing education cycle; however, there is no credit for the exam time. Trainees who were licensed prior to January 1, 2008, and who are upgrading, are subject to different education criteria. Please refer to the Upgrade Requirements document for additional information.

 

Bureau Basic Education Course Approval

Basic education courses, both classroom and online, must meet AQB requirements. The requirements for approval of basic education courses are:

NOTE: Credit is only given for the portion or portions of the class that covers required modules.

Example: An approved course is 50 hours in length but only 30 hours of the course covers the module Real Estate Appraisal Principles. The remaining 20 hours do not cover any of the required modules. Therefore, the applicant can only receive credit for 30 of the 50 course hours.

Examination Preparation Courses

Examination preparation courses (i.e., courses designed solely to prepare a person to pass the licensing examination) do not meet the basic education requirements.

Continuing Education Requirements

All licensed appraisers must meet continuing education requirements before they may renew their license. The current effective and expiration date term of a California real estate appraiser license is two years. However, the Continuing Education (CE) Cycle is a four year term. The cycle starts with the effective date of the initial and upgraded license, every four years.

Minimum Continuing Education Requirements

Applicants for license renewal must complete a total of 56 hours of continuing education during the four- year continuing education cycle. The cycle starts at the effective date of the current license plus four years. License renewals are required every two years and Licensees must provide proof of completion of the following mandatory courses for all licenses:

Although licensees should complete an average of 14 hours for each calendar year, they are not required to complete continuing education in each specific year.

Other than the mandatory 7-hour National USPAP Update Course (or its equivalent as determined by the AQB), duplicate education will not be accepted if completed within the same CE Cycle.

NOTE: Examination hours cannot be used toward continuing education hours.

Bureau Continuing Education Course Approval

Continuing education courses, both classroom and online, must meet the requirements of the AQB. Requirements for approval of continuing education courses are:

Continuing education courses that Bureau has already approved allow for faster processing of renewal applications. Courses offered by providers that are private vocational schools or professional organizations are assigned a Bureau course approval number. In addition, some college and university courses may be acceptable if the courses cover one of the topics listed below.

The AQB allows, and the Bureau may grant, continuing education credit for courses that cover topics including but not limited to:

NOTE: Basic education courses taken to upgrade a license can count toward continuing education when the course is taken within the four-year renewal cycle; however, there is no credit for the exam time.

Course Completion Certificates

Course providers must provide course completion certificates to those who successfully complete the course. Licensees must not submit completion certificates until it is time to renew their licenses. Licensees must retain their completion certificates and attach them (photocopies are acceptable) to their application for renewal of their license.


Acceptable Types of Courses

Courses Accredited by BREA

Basic and continuing education courses that are accredited by the Bureau have a Bureau approval number. They include courses from professional organizations and vocational schools. Applicants can verify approved (Course Provider Search) schools and individual courses (Course Search) or by calling (916) 552-9000.

Courses Requiring a Petition for Equivalency

A Petition for Equivalency (REA 3005) is required for all courses that have not been preapproved by the Bureau. Courses not preapproved by the Bureau may still be considered acceptable if they meet the minimum qualification requirements of the AQB. For example, applicants may petition for basic or continuing education credit for courses taken from vocational schools or professional organizations which are no longer in business, and courses that are no longer offered. Petitioned courses must meet all of the same requirements as courses preapproved by the Bureau. For instance, online education that is petitioned must be approved by the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) in order for the petition to be accepted.

Applicants must submit a Petition for Equivalency Credit (REA 3005), all required attachments for each course (i.e. college transcripts), and the required fee for each course to determinethe acceptability of each course.

You must also submit a timed course outline and BREA Topic Matrix Addendum for each course as part of the review process for qualifying education.

Accredited Colleges and Universities

College and university courses that have not been preapproved by the Bureau may be considered acceptable if they meet the minimum qualification requirement of the AQB. Applicants must submit a Petition for Equivalency Credit (REA 3005), all required attachments for each course, and the required fee for each course.

Online Education Courses

The AQB does not permit the Bureau to accept online education courses unless they are: 1) approved by the Bureau; 2) meet the requirements for AQB appraisal-related courses; and 3) offered by either an accredited college or university, or approved by the International Distance Education Certification Center.

Basic Education online courses must also meet the following requirements:

Continuing Education online courses must also meet the following requirements:

Equivalent Activities

Appraisers may receive up to one half of their continuing education credit for teaching appraisal courses, developing appraisal education programs and writing articles that are published in legitimate appraisal journals.

Instructing Appraisal Courses

The Bureau may award up to one half of continuing education credit, not to exceed 28 hours, to instructors of real estate appraisal courses. To request such credit, the instructor must submit written verification from the department dean or other appropriate school official that includes all of the following:

If a course is not preapproved by the Bureau, the instructor must submit a Petition for Equivalency Credit (REA 3005) with all appropriate fees.

Course Credit Requirements

To receive credit for a course, an applicant must submit a course completion certificate, a college transcript from the school, an official school grade slip or other acceptable documentation for proof of course completion. The documentation must be submitted with the application and must include all of the following information:

In addition:

Determining Hours of Credit for College Courses

To determine the maximum number of hours of education credit which the Bureau may grant for acceptable college level courses, multiply the number of semester or quarter units of credit awarded by the college times the number of weeks in the semester or quarter.

Example: A three unit course taken at a school with 18 week semesters equals a maximum of 54 hours of education credit. A five unit course taken at a school with ten week quarters equals a maximum of 50 hours of education credit. The hours spent taking the final examination for a course are already included in these hours and are not added in separately.

Foreign Education

Transcripts showing education or a degree earned outside the United States require translation and evaluation at a credentialing service. In addition to translating transcripts from colleges outside the United States, the credentialing service can determine if a degree is equivalent to an AA degree or a BA degree earned from an accredited college in the United States. A credentialing service is also used to determine if a specific course is equivalent to the same course taken at an accredited college in the United States.

When a credentialing service is used to determine if a degree is equivalent to a degree earned in the United States, the Applicant must submit documentation from a credentialing service indicating that the college is accredited and the degree is equivalent to a degree earned from an accredited college in the United States.

If a credentialing service is used to determine if a specific course is equivalent to a course taken from an accredited college in the United States, the Applicant must submit documentation from a credentialing service that the college is accredited, the course is equivalent to a specific course taken at an accredited college in the United States, and the number of semester units the course is equivalent to in the United States.

WORK EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS

Effective April 1, 2020, the Bureau will no longer require applicants list their experience by category. Instead, applicants will list all their USPAP compliant appraisal reports and appraisal review reports on the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004).

NOTE: All experience must be obtained after January 30, 1989 and must be USPAP-compliant. An applicant’s experience must be in appraisal work conforming to Standards 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and/or 6, where the appraiser demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles, methodology, procedures (development), and reporting conclusions. The work experience must be for a business purpose, (i.e., mock appraisal experience is ineligible). Restricted Appraisal Reports and Restricted Use Appraisal Reports are not eligible for experience credit.

The appraisal reports and appraisal review reports listed on your Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004), must demonstrate your proficiency to hold a license at the level requested on your application. To be acceptable for experience credit, the applicant must be able to provide the work upon request and be either:

State law requires that the applicant make documentation of work experience available to the Bureau upon request. Work samples are one such form of documentation. Each work sample must be a true and correct, unaltered, and nonredacted copy of the completed appraisal report as submitted to the client for a business purpose.

Documenting Experience

Applicants for a Residential License, Certified Residential License or Certified General License must document their experience on the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004) and shall include all of the following:

Work Samples

The Bureau will select and review work samples from the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004) to verify applicants have met the experience requirement. Each work sample requested must be a true and correct, unaltered, and nonredacted copy of the report delivered to the client, and in full conformance with USPAP requirements. If any of the work samples are found not to conform to any portion of USPAP, the Bureau may reject the experience claimed and deny the application. The Bureau reserves the right to require the submission of additional samples and/or complete work files.

Report Types Unacceptable for the Log of Appraisal Experience

Earning Acceptable Experience as a Trainee Appraiser

General

To earn acceptable hours of experience, a Trainee Appraiser must work under the direct technical supervision of a Certified Residential or Certified General licensed appraiser in good standing who meets the Supervisory Appraiser criteria outlined previously in this handbook. The Supervisory Appraiser must be licensed at the appropriate level for the type of property being appraised. In addition, a Trainee Appraiser may work for more than one Supervisory Appraiser. For hours to be included on the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004), the Trainee Appraiser must either:

In addition, work experience and the appraisal report must fully conform to both the requirements of USPAP and Title 10, Chapter 6.5, California Code of Regulations (commencing with Section 3500).

Trainee Appraiser's Duties

Trainees must:

Supervisory Appraiser's Duties

The Supervisory Appraiser must do all of the following:

NOTE: Supervisory Appraisers must be licensed at the Certified Residential or Certified General level and have no more than three Trainee Appraisers under their supervision. For more information, review the previous Supervisory and Trainee section in this handbook.

Obtaining Experience Without a License

An individual who is unlicensed may obtain appraisal experience in any of the following ways:

  1. By providing "significant real property appraisal assistance" to an appraiser and adequately identifying the assistance in the appraisal report, or,
  2. By performing appraisals in non-federally related transactions.

NOTE: Individuals unlicensed in California may not sign appraisals in federally related transactions, even if co-signed by a licensed California appraiser.

EXAMINATION AND LICENSE ISSUANCE

Applicants must successfully complete the examination for the license level for which they have applied. After the Bureau reviews and makes a preliminary determination that an applicant has met the minimum requirements, a letter will be sent to the applicant informing them that they are eligible to take the exam. The letter will have AMP's contact information, the applicant's identification number and the selected work samples for review that the applicant needs to submit after successfully passing the exam.

AMP has a helpful California Candidate Handbook for your perusal.

Payment of Examination Fees

Applicants pay examination fees directly to the exam provider.

Scheduling the Examination

Applicants who receive a letter of exam eligibility should verify that the examination level indicated on the letter conforms to the license level for which they applied. Applicants may then call the test administrator to schedule an examination date and choose a testing center. Applicants who require special accommodations in order to test must inform the test administrator when making the appointment. Note that testing dates, facilities, and seating are limited.

The applicant must successfully complete the examination within five attempts and no later than one year from the date they became eligible according to AMP records. Since reservations are subject to space and availability, applicants should reserve space as early as possible. Failure to successfully complete the examination within five attempts or prior to eligibility end date will result in expiration of the application. After five attempts and/or the eligibility end date, if the applicant still wants to obtain a license, the applicant must reapply for licensure. This will require a new application, supporting documentation and payment of all appropriate fees in accordance with the requirements in existence at the time the new application is submitted.

NOTE: It is the responsibility of applicants to ensure that the correct examination is taken at the testing center.

Examination Results

Examinations are scored upon completion and applicants should receive their results immediately after completing the exam.

NOTE: Applicants should not leave the testing center without the original copy of the examination results containing the applicant's photograph, and the appropriate BREA form as described below.

Instructions for Applicants Who Pass the Examination

Applicants who pass the examination will receive proof of successful completion from the test provider. In order to request license issuance, applicants must forward the original examination score results sheet showing successful completion, a completed Application for Issuance of a License (REA 3008), BREA requested work samples (not required for Trainee level), and all appropriate fees (if any still outstanding) to the Bureau.

NOTE: Application for Issuance of License (REA 3008), original examination results, and the selected work samples must be received within one year from the date the examination was successfully completed. After one year, applicants who still desire to pursue licensure must reapply as indicated above.

Instruction for Applicants Who Fail the Examination

Applicants who fail the examination will need to contact AMP again to reschedule another exam.

Criminal Records Search

The California Department of Justice (DOJ) and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) will use identification and fingerprint information to assist in determining if applicants have a criminal record. This information is provided to the Bureau as part of the application process and is automatically updated should a subsequent criminal conviction occur during the period of licensure.

Child Support Check

The Department of Child Support Services provides the Bureau with a list of persons who are delinquent in court ordered child support payments. If an applicant's name is on this list who is otherwise qualified for licensure, the Bureau may issue a temporary license that is valid for 150 days. During this time the applicant must have the County Department of Child Support Services that placed the applicant on the list submit a release to the Bureau. The 150 day temporary license will not be extended and fees submitted are non- refundable. (See Family Code section 17420 and California Child Support Obligors for additional information.)

Denial of Your License Application Based on Failure to Meet Minimum Requirements

If an application is denied due to the applicant's failure to meet minimum requirements, the applicant may have certain rights to have the decision reviewed in a hearing. These rights are contained in California Government Code Section 11500 et seq. and California Business and Professions Code Section 475 et seq. Applicants should become familiar with these sections as failure to timely protect these rights may result in the loss of any right.

OTHER APPLICATION INFORMATION

Investigation of Offenses

Before an application is approved, the Bureau is required by law to verify the identity of the applicant and determine if the applicant has committed any crimes or acts which constitute grounds for denial of an application for licensure. To assist the Bureau with this review process, please ensure you include all of the following with your application for each offense:

NOTE: If charges were dismissed without a conviction, provide a copy of the court document evidencing dismissal of the charges.

Disclosure of Prior Conviction

Applicants must disclose to the Bureau any and all prior misdemeanor and felony convictions. If a conviction has been purged, the applicant must still disclose the conviction unless entitled to an exemption based upon successful completion of a diversion program, a judicial determination of factual innocence or other order of court which expressly provides for such exemption. Applicants claiming this exemption must provide the Bureau with a certified copy of the court order or other authority for the exemption. A Certificate of Rehabilitation (Penal Code Section 4852.01) or termination of probation and dismissal of the information or accusation (Penal Code Section 1203.4) does not exempt an applicant from disclosing a conviction when applying for a license issued by the Bureau. However, convictions adjudicated in the juvenile court or convictions more than two years old under California Health and Safety Code, Sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e), or 113606(b) should not be reported.

Applicants must also disclose the following pleas or convictions:

Nolo Contendre or No Contest

Evidence of Rehabilitation

Applicants are given an opportunity to explain any offense or criminal conviction. the Bureau may ask applicants to do this in writing and/or require participation in an office conference to provide the explanation. In addition to providing an explanation, the Bureau may require applicants to demonstrate proof of rehabilitation subsequent to the acts or the actions that are the basis of the conviction in accordance with the Criteria for Rehabilitation as stated in Article 12, Title 10, California Code of Regulations, Section 3723.

Records

Applicants are required to provide certified copies of the court records, including the complaint, complete docket, judgment and sentence and probation report, if any, for any convictions. Applicants are also required to provide copies of police and/or other investigating agency reports, as well as certified copies of decisions from other state or federal agencies, if applicable. Providing these documents with the application will assist the Bureau in processing the application as quickly as possible. If an applicant is unable to obtain these records, the applicant must provide the Bureau with a sworn declaration signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury stating the efforts the applicant made to obtain the records, the inability to obtain them, and the reasons why.

Denial of Applications Based on Prior Act or Convictions

If the Bureau determines the applicant is not qualified to receive a license due to prior acts or convictions, the applicant may have certain rights to have this decision reviewed in a hearing. These rights are stated in California Government Code Section 11500 et seq. and California Business and Professions Code Section 475 et seq. Applicants should become familiar with these sections as failure to timely protect these rights may result in the loss of any right the applicant may have to a hearing.

Due Diligence

Applicants must exercise due diligence in pursuing an application for licensure. This means the applicants must respond in a timely fashion to any inquiries or requests for additional information or documentation as stated in Article 4, Title 10, California Code of Regulations, Section 3571.

Failure to exercise due diligence in pursuing an application or responding to a request from the Bureau, within 60 days may result in an application being closed or denied. Should this occur and the applicant subsequently decides to pursue licensure or application for upgrade or renewal, the applicant must submit a new application, supporting documentation, and all appropriate fees in accordance with requirements in existence at that time.

Refunds

Pursuant to state statute, all fees are deemed earned upon receipt. No refunds will be granted.

Change of Information

A licensee who has a change of personal information such as mailing, home or business address, or telephone number change, must notify the Bureau within ten days of the change, in accordance with Article 2, Title 10, California code of Regulations, Section 3527. The new information must be submitted on the Change Notification and Miscellaneous Requests (REA 3011) form. In addition to the potential failure of receiving important information, failure to notify the Bureau of any change in such information may subject a licensee to disciplinary action, which may include a fine and/or denial or revocation of his or her license.


APPENDIX A
CORE CURRICULUM - BASIC EDUCATION MODULE AND SUBTOPICS

The following are the subtopics for each module. Not all module subtopics are required for credit toward completion of a module. The examination, however, is based on all of the subtopics. Courses may contain one module or parts of one or more modules.


BASIC EDUCATION MODULE AND SUBTOPICS
BASIC APPRAISAL PRINCIPLES
(30 hours required at all levels)
A Real Property Concepts & Characteristics
➡ Basic Real Property Concepts
➡ Real Property Characteristics
➡ Legal Description
B Legal Consideration
➡ Forms of Ownership
➡ Public and Private Controls
➡ Real Estate Contracts
➡ Leases
C Influences on Real Estate Values
➡ Governmental
➡ Economic
➡ Social
➡ Environmental, Geographic & Physical
D Types of Value
➡ Market Value
➡ Other Value Types
E Ethics and how they apply in Appraisal Theory and Practice
F Economic Principles
➡ Classical Economic Principles
➡ Applciation and illustration of the Economic Principles
G Overview of Real Estate Markets and Analysis
➡ Market Fundamentals, Characteristics and Definitions
➡ Supply Analysis
➡ Demand Analysis
➡ Use of Market Analysis

BASIC APPRAISAL PROCEDURES
BASIC APPRAISAL PROCEDURES
(30 hours required at all levels)
A Overview to Approaches to Value
B Valuation Procedures
➡ Defining the Problem
➡ Collecting and Selecting Data
➡ Analyzing
➡ Reconciling and Final Value Opinion
➡ Communicating the Appraisal
C Property Description
➡ Geographical Characteristics of the Land/Site
➡ Geologic Characteristics of the Land/Site
➡ Location and Neighborhood Caharacteristics
➡ Land/Site Considerations for Highest and Best Use
➡ Improvements - Architectural Styles and Types of Construction
D Residential Applications

15-HOUR NATIONAL USPAP COURSE
15-HOUR NATIONAL USPAP COURSE
or its equivalent (required at all levels)

RESIDENTIAL MARKET ANALYSIS & HIGHEST & BEST USE
RESIDENTIAL MARKET ANALYSIS & HIGHEST & BEST USE
(15 Hours required at AT, AL & AR Levels)
A Residential Markets and Analysis
➡ Market Fundamentals, Characteristics and Definitions
➡ Supply Analysis
➡ Demand Analysis
➡ Use of Market Analysis
B Highest and Best Use
➡ Test Constraints
➡ Application of Highest and Best Use
➡ Special Considerations
➡ Market Analysis
➡ Case Studies

RESIDENTIAL SITE VALUATION & COST APPROACH
RESIDENTIAL SITE VALUATION & COST APPROACH
(15 Hours required at AT, AL & AR Levels)
A Site Valuation
➡ Methods
➡ Case Studies
B Cost Approach
➡ Concepts and Definitions
➡ Replacement/Reproduction Cost New
➡ Acctued Depreciation
➡ Methods of Estimating Accrued Depreciation
➡ Case Studies

RESIDENTIAL SALES COMPARISON & INCOME APPROACHES
RESIDENTIAL SALES COMPARISON & INCOME APPROACHES
(30 Hours required at AT, AL & AR Levels)
A Valuation Principles & Procedures - Sales Comparison Approach
B Valuation Principles & Procedures - Income Approach
C Finance and Cash Equivalency
D Financial Calculator Introduciton
E Identification, Derivation and Measurement of Adjustments
F Gross Rent Multipliers
G Partial Interests
H Reconciliation
I Case Studies and Applications

RESIDENTIAL REPORT WRITING & CASE STUDIES
RESIDENTIAL REPORT WRITING & CASE STUDIES
(15 Hours required at AT, AL & AR Levels)
A Writing and Reasoning Skills
B Common Writing Problems
C Form Reports
D Report options and USPAP Compliance
E Case Studies

STATISTICS MODELING & FINANCE
STATISTICS MODELING & FINANCE
(15 Hours required at AR & AG Levels)
A Statistics
B Valuation Models (AVM's and Mass Appraisal)
C Real Estate Finance

ADVANCED RESIDENTIAL APPLICATIONS & CASE STUDIES
ADVANCED RESIDENTIAL APPLICATIONS & CASE STUDIES
(15 Hours at AR Level)
A Complex property, Ownership and Market Conditions
B Deriving and Supporting Adjustments
C Residential Market Analysis
D Advanced Case Studies

GENERAL APPRAISER MARKET ANALYSIS & HIGHEST & BEST USE
GENERAL APPRAISER MARKET ANALYSIS & HIGHEST & BEST USE
(30 Hours required at AG Level)
A Real Estate Markel Analysis
➡ Market Fundamantals, Characteristics and Definitions
➡ Supply Analysis
➡ Demand Analysis
➡ Use of Market Analysis
B Highest and Best Use
➡ Test Constraints
➡ Application of Highest and Best Use
➡ Special Considerations
➡ Market Analysis
➡ Case Studies

GENERAL APPRAISER SALES COMPARISON APPROACH
GENERAL APPRAISER SALES COMPARISON APPROACH
(30 Hours at AR Level)
A Value Principles
B Procedures
C Reconciliation
D Identification and Measurement of Adjustment
E Case Studies

GENERAL APPRAISER SITE VALUATION & COST APPROACH
GENERAL APPRAISER SITE VALUATION & COST APPROACH
(30 Hours required at AG Level)
A Site Valuation
➡ Methods
➡ Case Studies
B Cost Approach
➡ Concepts and Definitions
➡ Replacement/Reproduction Cost New
➡ Accrued Depreciation
➡ Methods of Estimating Accrued Depreciation
➡ Case Studies

GENERAL APPRAISER INCOME APPROACH
GENERAL APPRAISER INCOME APPROACH
(60 Hours at AR Level)
A Overview
B Compound Interest
C Lease Analysis
D Income Analysis
E Vacancy and Collection Loss
F Estimating Operating Expense and Reserves
G Reconstructed Income and Expense Statement
H Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate
I Direct Capitalization
J Discounted Cash Flow
K Yield Capitalization
L Partial Interest
M Case Studies

GENERAL APPRAISER REPORT WRITING & CASE STUDIES
GENERAL APPRAISER REPORT WRITING & CASE STUDIES
(30 Hours at AG Level)
A Writing & Reasoning Skills
B Common Writing Problems
C Report Writing & USPAP Compliance
D Case Studies


APPENDIX B

BASIC EDUCATION MODULE REQUIREMENTS

Minimum Hours License Level

Basic Education Modules

Trainee & Residential Certified Residential Certified General
30 Basic Appraisal Principles X X X
30 Basic Appraisal Procedures X X X
15 15-Hour National USPAP Course X X X
15 Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use X X
15 Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach X X
30 Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach X X
15 Residential Report Writing & Case Studies X X
15 Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies X
15 Statistics Modeling and Finance X X
30 General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use X
30 General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach X
30 General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach X
30 General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies X
60 General Appraiser Income Approach X
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives. May include hours over the minimum requirement in the above modules or in modules not required   20 hours 30 hours
See Appendix A for the subtopics of each module

REFERENCE GUIDE
  • The Appraisal Foundation
    1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111
    Washington, DC 20005
    Telephone: (202) 347-7722
    Fax: (202) 347-7727
    www.appraisalfoundation.org
     
  • Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB)
    1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111
    Washington, DC 20005
    Telephone: (202) 347-7722
    Fax: (202) 347-7727
    www.appraisalfoundation.org
     
  • Appraisal Standards Board
    1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111
    Washington, DC 20005
    Telephone: (202) 347-7722
    Fax: (202) 347-7727
    www.appraisalfoundation.org
     
  • Department of Real Estate
    1651 Exposition Blvd.
    Sacramento, California 95815
    Telephone: (916) 263-8704
    Fax: (916) 263-8943
    www.bre.ca.gov
     
  • International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC)   
    Post Office Box 230159
    Montgomery, Alabama 36123-0159
    Telephone: (334) 260-2928
    Fax: (334) 260-2903
    www.idecc.org
     
  • Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (Bureau)
    3075 Prospect Park Drive, Suite 190
    Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
    Telephone: (916) 552-9000
    Fax: (916) 464-0131
    www.brea.ca.gov